Sunday, 16 December 2012

Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls #3) By Maggie Stiefvater


Forever (The Wolves of Mercy Falls, #3)Forever by Maggie Stiefvater
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

then.
When Sam met Grace, he was a wolf and she was a girl. Eventually he found a way to become a boy, and their loved moved from curious distance to the intense closeness of shared lives.

now.
That should have been the end of their story. But Grace was not meant to stay human. Now she is the wolf. And the wolves of Mercy Falls are about to be kill in one final, spectacular hunt.

forever.
Sam would do anything for Grace. But can one boy and one love really change a hostile, predatory world? The past, the present, and the future are about to collide in one pure moment - a moment of death or life, farewell or forever


I took me a long time to finally pick up this last book of the series... I must admit I did start it numerous times and put it down before getting past the first couple if chapters. This time was the last time and I read it in pretty much one sitting. It was a brilliant closure to the series. I wanted more of a happy ever after but I think that would of ruined its integrity at the end of the day.


View all my reviews

American Vampire (Vampire for Hire #3) by J.R. Rain


American Vampire (Vampire for Hire, #3)American Vampire by J.R. Rain
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Mother, wife, private investigator...vampire. Six years ago federal agent Samantha Moon was the perfect wife and mother, your typical soccer mom with the minivan and suburban home. Then the unthinkable happens, an attack that changes her life forever. And forever is a very long time for a vampire.

Now in AMERICAN VAMPIRE, sequel to VAMPIRE MOON, private investigator Samantha Moon receives a heartbreaking phone call from a very unlikely source: a five-year-old girl who's been missing for three months. Now on the hunt, Samantha will use her considerable resources - including her growing supernatural abilities - to locate the missing girl before it's too late. And as she gets closer and closer to the horrible truth, she receives devastating news on the home front. Now with her world turned upside down, Samantha Moon is forced to make the ultimate choice of life and death.

And through it all, she discovers the identity of one mysterious man...a man she has grown to love.


This instalment wasn't as gripping as the last one. The ending was meant to be a cliff hanger but you could tell what she was going to do.... What any mother would do and the name of the next book kinda gives it a away. You can tell the author is a man even though the Narrater is a woman. She at times isn't quite believable, she is attracted to every man she meets and says a lot of things that you could imagine a man saying or thinking but nota woman. But the author is a man so I don't blame him for that. It is still enjoyable, just not always believable unless you can shut that part of your brain off. I hope she finally makes a decision over the men in her life, because I can't handle another book of umming and ahhing. I still want to read the next, so it's not that bad. :)


View all my reviews

Vampire Moon (Vampire for Hire #2) by J R. Rain


Vampire Moon (Vampire for Hire, #2)Vampire Moon by J.R. Rain
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Mother, wife, private investigator...vampire. Six years ago federal agent Samantha Moon was the perfect wife and mother, your typical soccer mom with the minivan and suburban home. Then the unthinkable happens, an attack that changes her life forever. And forever is a very long time for a vampire.Now in VAMPIRE MOON, sequel to MOON DANCE, private investigator Samantha Moon finds herself hunting down a powerful crime lord and protecting an innocent woman from her ruthless ex-husband — all while two very different men vie for her heart. And as the stakes grow higher and her cases turn personal, Samantha Moon will do whatever it takes to protect the innocent and bring two cold-blooded killers to justice — her own brand of justice.

I am loving this series, it's funny and easy reading. I am glad we are getting to know more about Kingsley. Sam is Bad ass. The cliff hanger ending did its job and roped my in to buying book 3 immediately, I think if I was reading these as they came out I would of been pissed at the cliff hanger but I just went straight to amazon and got the next instalment.... Off to read it now. :D


View all my reviews

Mistletoe and Magic - A Short Story by Sydney Logan


Mistletoe Magic - A Short StoryMistletoe Magic - A Short Story by Sydney Logan
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

It’s Christmas Eve, and Melanie Taylor is on a mission to find the perfect gift for her husband.

Something special. Something expensive.

Something that will save her marriage.

Can a chance encounter on an elevator make her Christmas wish come true?

This is a nice sweet story. I can't say much else about it without spoiling it, so if you are interested to hear more. Read it. :)


View all my reviews

Obtained by Shanora Williams


OBTAINED (OBTAINED, Book #1)OBTAINED by Shanora Williams
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I was lucky enough to receive an ARC from the author.
This was a brilliant start to a series. Once I started reading I could not put it down until I was finished. Alexandria, Jules and Felix became my best friends for the day, and to be honest I'm kind of at a loss without them today. I really enjoyed Shanora's writing style, it flowed really well. Some authors jump about and chop and change through scenes but Shanora took me EXACTLY where I wanted to be. It had just the right amount if suspense that I had to just keep reading and when I did have to put it down for 5 minutes to pick the kids up from school I was still thinking more about what's going to happen, than I was thinking about my actual journey to school. Well Done Ms Shanora Williams. I will be impatiently awaiting any other books you write in the future.


View all my reviews

Dirt by Kim F. Ridley


DirtDirt by K.F. Ridley
My rating: 5 of 5 stars
I was extremely lucky to receive an ARC of this wonderful book. It's presentation is beautiful.
Ashe was raised by her father who is a little... lets just say essentric. Not quite the right word but close enough. He insists she is ill and makes her drink a glass of smelly yellow liquid everyday --I forgot to mention it tastes as bad as it smells-- calling it her medicine. Things start getting strange for Ashe first she notices a guy watching her between lessons. He's hot so she is in two minds about whether its a good thing or a creepy thing. Then she notices a car tailing her. She goes on to learn unbelievable things about her "illness" and creatures in the world that she always thought we're just in children's stories. Faeries. Her life gets turned upside down as the Faeries hunt her for her blood. Who will she turn to for help? is the hot guy after her blood too? Will she survive long enough to find love? You will have to read the book to find out.

The only words I can use to as an adequate description are PURE BRILLIANCE.
I Love, Love, Loved it!


View all my reviews

Sunday, 2 December 2012

Pulse of Heroes (Pulse #1) A. Jacob Sweeney


Pulse Of Heroes (The Pulse #1)Pulse Of Heroes by A. Jacob Sweeny
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"Michelle used to feel like she was behind in everything, especially school and relationships. Her great aunt from the old country says she is like a bland meal, "no salt or pepper". But in junior year, everything changes. Her father takes a position on the Town Council, a popular boy in school becomes interested in her, and most importantly, the Hekademos Learning Center, a private school for 'troubled' students, moves into her quiet neighborhood amidst the protests of the entire town.

After an embarrassing fall over the school wall, Michelle meets Elliot and her ordinary ‘bland’ life changes its course forever."

It started out slow but once I got to the 40% mark I couldn't put it down. The writing style was different compared to what I'm used to, you swap and change between different characters thoughts a little willy nilly, but it was something I managed to get used to.
I love all the characters and can't wait to see what happens next.


View all my reviews

Archangels Storm (Guild Hunter, #5) by Nalini Singh


Archangel's Storm (Guild Hunter, #5)Archangel's Storm by Nalini Singh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"With wings of midnight and an affinity for shadows, Jason courts darkness. But now, with the Archangel Neha’s consort lying murdered in the jewel-studded palace that was his prison and her rage threatening cataclysmic devastation, Jason steps into the light, knowing he must unearth the murderer before it is too late.

Earning Neha’s trust comes at a price—Jason must tie himself to her bloodline through the Princess Mahiya, a woman with secrets so dangerous, she trusts no one. Least of all an enemy spymaster."


With only their relentless hunt for a violent, intelligent killer to unite them, Jason and Mahiya embark on a quest that leads to a centuries-old nightmare… and to the dark storm of an unexpected passion that threatens to drench them both in blood
Loved it... Although come on I didn't expect anything different. Nalini Singh has some uncanny writing skills that hook you in, once you start that first page you can not get these characters out of your head, to be honest they hang around a long time after you turn the last page too.
I really enjoyed getting to know Jason and why he is like he is. We also got a little cameo from Aodhan and Venom too. I am looking forward to find out who the next book is about and see how things are going with Dmitri and Honor.

To give you an extra boast to read this book here are my thoughts at Pg171- "Who would of thought My Dark and Silent, would be so Hot and Steamy?"


View all my reviews

Rapture (Fallen Angels #4) by J.R. Ward


Rapture (The Fallen Angels, #4)Rapture by J.R. Ward
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Mels Carmichael, reporter for the Caldwell Courier Journal, gets the shock of her life when a man stumbles in front of her car outside the local cemetery. After the accident, his amnesia is just the kind of mystery she likes to solve, but she soon discovers they're over their heads with his past. Over their heads with passion, too ...As shadows walk the line between reality and another realm, and her lover's memory begins to come back, the two of them learn that nothing is truly dead and buried. Especially when you're trapped in a no-holds-barred war between angels and demons. With a soul on the line, and Mels's heart at risk, what in heaven - or in hell - will it take to save them both?

After reporter Mels Carmichael hits a disheveled man with her car
outside the local cemetery, she pays a visit to the stranger in the hospital. The only thing he remembers of his past is seeing a name written on a headstone: that of Jim Heron—a fallen angel charged with rescuing souls from the seven deadly sins. Now, as Mels struggles to help this mysterious stranger rediscover himself, Heron himself returns to prepare for a battle between good and evil."


The battle of the fourth soul is the most important battle of Good Vs Evil yet. Jim is still off his game after Sissy, Ad is still grieving Eddie, But don't write the Angels off. Devina isn't quite on her A game either, she is struggling with Jim going back on his word in the last battle. This soul could easily go either way, Especially considering WHO the soul is.
We get to learn so much more about the Angels in this book. We finally find out who Dog is.. Yippee.. and it's so bloody obvious you WILL kick yourself when you find out. Its heartbreaking to watch how much Ad misses Eddie, there is one scene where Devina is playing with Adrian's head, That just had the tears streaming down my face. As much as Ad doesn't believe he is worthy of being an Angel, he does something to show he is so worthy. He is an amazing Angel with a huge heart willing to take one for the team... a huge one for the team...
I really enjoyed this book getting to know more about Matthias and XOps was brilliant too.

Here are some in the process of reading thoughts. As spoiler free as possible, Don't yell at me if I give something away though.

p43- "I hate Devina. I know she's the bad guy/gal & you aren't exactly meant to like her... But well I can't stand that demon!" 
p52-  "Oh my heart just broke into a million pieces. Ad.. :,("
p61-  "Could that be the one and only Lassiter that Ad is referring to? I think it might."
p145- "Hello BoBs. :D"
p393- "*SPOILERish* Oh Jim, the saying "sleeping with the enemy" shouldn't be taken quite so literal! *SMH*"
p477- "DOG!!!!!! I feel so dumb that I didn't work it out sooner. It was right there on the paper... Haha."


View all my reviews


Tuesday, 9 October 2012

The Vampire's Redemption (Undead in Brown County #3) by S.J. Wright


The Vampire's Redemption (Undead in Brown County, #3)The Vampire's Redemption by S.J. Wright
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"In the third book of the Undead in Brown County series, Sarah Wood has to deal with the changes in her sister, Katie. She also gets to know someone new in her life who could end up being her salvation. And then there's Michael. He's desperate to keep Sarah safe from his enemies. How far will he go in order to protect her?"


                                          *********      SPOILERS      *********





I loved this book, I could not out it down. I was getting mad when Sarah was attracted to Jackson because I really want her to get with Michael. I really wasn't happy with his plan at the end either, I know it's for her safety but I just want her with him. I like Jackson and I know he loves her and she feels for him too but... I don't know I just think Michael is the one. He needs to come back as a human after finding the Breath-giver and get with her, IMO.


View all my reviews

The Vampire's Curse (Undead in Brown County #2) By S.J. Wright


The Vampire's Curse (Undead in Brown County, #2)The Vampire's Curse by S.J. Wright
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"The tingling, mesmerizing heat blazed even hotter in my veins as I watched him stroll towards me. There was a blatant elegance in the careless way he moved, from the slight swing of his arms to the fluid action in his long legs. He leaned over me, his eyes cold and calculating, his cool breath swirled over my cheeks like a freezing winter mist.

“You’re not afraid?”

I could not move. He was holding me prisoner without chains, without bars of any kind. He held me with the steady, penetrating focus of a hunter who will not be denied his prey. My fingers itched to touch him, to trail over his skin in slow gliding strokes. But he could not have me. No one could really have me.

Sarah Wood, after witnessing a battle between several powerful vampires on her land, is left stunned and feeling immensely guilty for having given permission for her friend, Alex, to be turned into a vampire rather than allowing him to die from his injuries. And though she tried hard to keep her sister, Katie from knowing about the whole vampire situation at their family’s Inn in the wooded hills of southern Indiana, Katie became the victim of a kidnapping herself.

Sarah is left to face the return of her mother, who had abandoned the girls when they were children. She’ll need every ounce of her bad attitude and quick temper to deal with the new surprises coming her way, including an illness that could very well leave the entire responsibility of the Inn and the vampires to fall onto the shoulders of her younger sister."


This series is so engrossing. The books are short in comparison to other books but the are so captivating, I just could not put them down.. Not even for a second.


View all my reviews

The Vampire's Warden (Undead in Brown County #1) by S.J. Wright


The Vampire's Warden (Undead in Brown County, #1)The Vampire's Warden by S.J. Wright
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"He moved. It was a flash in the moonlight, a blur of motion like I'd never witnessed before. No human had the capacity to move like that. When I found myself face-to-face with him there in the meadow, I knew without a doubt that the journal was authentic. I knew that my grandfather hadn't been crazy at all.

Because a foot away from me stood a vampire. 

What do you do when you find out the people you trust have been hiding a terrible secret? When Sarah Wood's father passes away and hands over to her the responsibility of running the family's inn, she finds put things are far more complicated than she first imagined. She's not just responsible for running the inn. She's become the Vampire's Warden.

This is part one of a three-part series. It is 31,880 words long. It is a novella."


I was recommended this by a friend and am so glad I took her advice and bought it. Brilliant new series. I can't wait to keep reading the series and see what is going to happen between Michael and Sarah. How is Alex going to react and what is Selena going to do/want?


View all my reviews

10 Nights by Michelle Hughes & Karl Jones


10 Nights10 Nights by Michelle Hughes
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

"After graduation, twenty-four-year-old Leah was determined that no man would destroy her plans for the future. Or so she thought. Her best laid plans and well-ordered life were turned head over heels after her best friend, Janie, invited her to a “coming-out” party.

One look at Rhett and all previous thoughts went straight to hell. He made an unbelievable offer to her: “Give me 10 nights and I’ll show you pleasure beyond your wildest dreams.”

Was this an invitation to paradise or would his request destroy her mind, body and soul?

From virgin to courtesan in 10 nights? Was Leah even willing to consider it?

In a game of cat and mouse in which 10 nights, 10 choices and 10 fantasies could change everything, who would declare victory?"


To be totally honest, I'm not sure where to start with this review, I have so much going round my head.

                                       ***********     SPOILER     ***********



Ok well in the synopsis the author compares the book to another BDSM labelled book that has been talked about so much lately, yes you know what book I'm talking about but just incase you have been living on another planet for the last couple of months I will name the book so you can google it, 'Fifty Shades of Grey' I understand why they (the authors) brought the comparison up, to get the huge 50 shades fan base to take notice and buy their book, but in my option it was a bad move. There are a lot of scenes in 10 NIGHTS that are very similar to the scenes in fifty shades, the elevator kiss, the tie's use in the first sex scene, him buying here a phone, not liking the safety of the old truck she drove so he gave her a car.... honestly the list goes on.

Saying all that I did enjoy the book and kept reading it until the end.

I didn't find the ending believable though because no-one would propose after knowing someone less than a fortnight. If the ten nights where strap he'd over time like one night a week and then they also had normal time together than it could happen but not after 10 consecutive nights.

I had the same love one minute hate the next, feeling towards Rhett that a lot of other readers have mentioned in the reviews I had read before picking the book up.

I think it was a bit of a high price considering there were so many typo's, I know you can't get every typo out. Even some of the best authors with huge publishing companies and a vigorous editing process still get the odd wrong letter here and there. But this had words missing altogether and I found myself reading the sentence afew times to figure out what word must be missing. There where also the typical typos like the characters name was Leak in one sentence instead of Leah. There were a lot of these throughout the book and I think if they are charging people $5.99 for an eBook it needed to go through a better editing process. To get rid of those typos as I only read through the book once and they were very obvious, so an editor should easily pick them up.

I enjoyed the characters a lot that's why I gave it 3 stars, I really connected with Leah and felt for her. Like I said above I had a love hate thing going on for Rhett. I would loved to of seen more of Janie and David, they really had me intruiged. It also has me thinking about piercings.. Lol.


View all my reviews

Monday, 8 October 2012

Once Burned (Night Prince #1) by Jeanine Frost


Once Burned (Night Prince, #1)Once Burned by Jeaniene Frost
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"She's a mortal with dark powers...

After a tragic accident scarred her body and destroyed her dreams, Leila never imagined that the worst was still to come: terrifying powers that let her channel electricity and learn a person's darkest secrets through a single touch. Leila is doomed to a life of solitude...until creatures of the night kidnap her, forcing her to reach out with a telepathic distress call to the world's most infamous vampire...

He's the Prince of Night...

Vlad Tepesh inspired the greatest vampire legend of all—but whatever you do, don't call him Dracula. Vlad's ability to control fire makes him one of the most feared vampires in existence, but his enemies have found a new weapon against him—a beautiful mortal with powers to match his own. When Vlad and Leila meet, however, passion ignites between them, threatening to consume them both. It will take everything that they are to stop an enemy intent on bringing them down in flames."


OMG.. It's Vlad! How hot is that cover... Wow!

After finishing this book I loved Vlad even more then I did seeing snippets of him in Cat and Bones books, I didn't think that was possible.


View all my reviews

Immortal in Death (In Death #3) by J.D. Robb


Immortal in Death (In Death, #3)Immortal in Death by J.D. Robb
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"It is 2058, New York City. Lieutenant Eve Dallas uncovers a world where technology can create beauty and youth, but passion and greed can destroy them.

She was one of the most sought-after women in the world. A top model who would stop at nothing to get what she wanted -even another woman's man. And now she's dead, the victim of a brutal murder.

Police lieutenant Eve Dallas puts her life on the line to take the case when suspicion falls on her best friend, the other woman in the fatal love triangle. Beneath the facade of glamor, Eve finds that the world of high fashion thrives on an all-consuming obsession with youth and fame-one that leads her from the lights of the runway to the dark underworld of New York City, where drugs can fulfill any desire, for a price."


This was a good story, Eve never seems to have it easy, even whilst planning her wedding she has to clear her best friend of murder charges and find the murderer of a long time snitch. I love Eve and Roarke's relationship, She is always reluctant but he tends to get what he wants from her. We get to see a lot more of her past as she is having nightmares and things start to unfold. I am looking forward to getting the next book in the series.


View all my reviews

The Help by Kathryn Stockett


The HelpThe Help by Kathryn Stockett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women - mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends - view one another. A deeply moving novel filled with poignancy, humor, and hope, The Help is a timeless and universal story about the lines we abide by, and the ones we don't."

I really enjoyed this book. Loved it infact. I can't wait to go out and get the movie now...Like right now... this second.
The book is narrated by 3 characters Skeeter, Minny and Aibileen. You can't mistake whose voice you are hearing as they all have such a uniqueness about them. It's set in Mississippi in the early 60's when Martin Luthur King is Marching in Washington. It has left me thinking that even though we don't treat people like they did, making them use a separate toilet or not sitting at the same table when eating etc. It saddens me to realise we are still so racist/prejudice against people that are different, be it Race, Gender or Sexuality.

If we could all take just one thing from this book it should be something Skeeter thought.

"We are just two people. Not that much separates us. Not nearly as much as I thought."



View all my reviews

Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult


Lone WolfLone Wolf by Jodi Picoult
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"A life hanging in the balance…a family torn apart. The #1 internationally bestselling author Jodi Picoult tells an unforgettable story about family, love, and letting go.

Edward Warren, twenty-four, has been living in Thailand for five years, a prodigal son who left his family after an irreparable fight with his father, Luke. But he gets a frantic phone call: His dad lies comatose, gravely injured in the same accident that has also injured his younger sister Cara.

With her father’s chances for recovery dwindling, Cara wants to wait for a miracle. But Edward wants to terminate life support and donate his father’s organs. Is he motivated by altruism, or revenge? And to what lengths will his sister go to stop him from making an irrevocable decision?

Lone Wolf explores the notion of family, and the love, protection and strength it’s meant to offer. But what if the hope that should sustain it, is the very thing that pulls it apart? Another tour de force from Jodi Picoult,Lone Wolf examines the wild and lonely terrain upon which love battles reason."


What a book. Yet another fabulous story that manages to throw twists at you the minute you think you know where she is taking you. Wow... This story really pulls on the heart strings. I cried a fair few tears during this book. But loved every minute of it. I loved getting to know about how Wolf packs work too. I highly recommend this to any one and everyone.


View all my reviews

Tangle of Need (Psy-Changeling #11) by Nalini Singh


Tangle of Need (Psy-Changeling, #11)Tangle of Need by Nalini Singh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Adria, wolf changeling and resilient soldier, has made a break with the past--one as unpredictable in love as it was in war. Now comes a new territory, and a devastating new complication: Riaz, a SnowDancer lieutenant already sworn to a desperate woman who belongs to another.

For Riaz, the primal attraction he feels for Adria is a staggering betrayal. For Adria, his dangerous lone-wolf appeal is beyond sexual. It consumes her. It terrifies her. It threatens to undermine everything she has built of her new life. But fighting their wild compulsion toward one another proves a losing battle.

Their coming together is an inferno...and a melding of two wounded souls who promise each other no commitment, no ties, no bonds. Only pleasure. Too late, they realize that they have more to lose than they ever imagined. Drawn into a cataclysmic Psy war that may alter the fate of the world itself, they must make a decision that might just break them both."


This book was amazing.. We got to see all my favorite characters... My only complaint is I want to see more of Lucas and his pack. The last few books have been based around the SnowDancer pack, I think it's time we focus on the DarkRiver pack at least for one book.
What a cliffhanger... I can not believe she did that to us. How could she?


View all my reviews

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines #2) By Richelle Mead

The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2)The Golden Lily by Richelle Mead
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Sydney Sage is an Alchemist, one of a group of humans who dabble in magic and serve to bridge the worlds of humans and vampires. They protect vampire secrets—and human lives.

Sydney would love to go to college, but instead, she’s been sent into hiding at a posh boarding school in Palm Springs, California–tasked with protecting Moroi princess Jill Dragomir from assassins who want to throw the Moroi court into civil war. Formerly in disgrace, Sydney is now praised for her loyalty and obedience, and held up as the model of an exemplary Alchemist.

But the closer she grows to Jill, Eddie, and especially Adrian, the more she finds herself questioning her age–old Alchemist beliefs, her idea of family, and the sense of what it means to truly belong. Her world becomes even more complicated when magical experiments show Sydney may hold the key to prevent becoming Strigoi—the fiercest vampires, the ones who don’t die. But it’s her fear of being just that—special, magical, powerful—that scares her more than anything. Equally daunting is her new romance with Brayden, a cute, brainy guy who seems to be her match in every way. Yet, as perfect as he seems, Sydney finds herself being drawn to someone else—someone forbidden to her.

When a shocking secret threatens to tear the vampire world apart, Sydney’s loyalties are suddenly tested more than ever before. She wonders how she's supposed to strike a balance between the principles and dogmas she's been taught, and what her instincts are now telling her.

Should she trust the Alchemists—or her heart?"


I was a little disappointed with the first book of this series BLOODLINES.. In comparison this book is brilliant. It was nowhere near as predictable as Bloodlines was. I loved getting to know more about Sydney, Although I did find myself wanting to slap her countless times. I found myself shouting "Damn it Sydney" Or "Come on, You are not dumb" every few pages. Honestly she is so smart she can debate about the efficiency of wind turbines in a heart beat but she needs a guy to lay his heart in her hands for her to see that he likes her... When I have been yelling at her from page one "He likes you Sydney" LOL.... She did drive me a little crazy and I am glad my husband was away with work while I was reading this or he might be divorcing "the crazy lady".. :-/

Sydney's teacher is weird and still making her write out those spells, they do seem to be coming in handy and it looks like she is going to need all she can get in 'The Indigo spell'.
It was great getting to see some old faces like Sonya Karp and Dimitri, who wouldn't be happy to see him?
I love Adrian he is so smart behind all that arrogance.
Things between Eddie and Jill change but you wouldn't guess what spanner gets thrown in the works there.
Angeline is almost a mini Rose. Trouble seems to be her middle name, but when it comes to her guardian duties she is all for it.

All in all I loved it and can not wait to read the third instalment 'The Indigo Spell'

View all my reviews

Stained by Ella James


Stained (Stained, #1)Stained by Ella James
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"After a fire destroys seventeen-year-old Julia’s home and kills her foster parents, she chases the half-demon responsible across the country and back, determined to avenge her family and discover why a host of celestial baddies want her dead. With Julia is enigmatic hottie - Cayne, who has his own score to settle with the half-demon, and who might be just as dangerous as the creature he and Julia hunt."

I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read the next one. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was because it confused me at times, I found myself rereading paragraphs because I had lost where the author was taking me. I can't explain what it was but one minute something was happening the next it was something else and I had to reread to figure out how we got from a to b. other then that it was fab.

View all my reviews

Kiss The Dead (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter #21) By L.K. Hamilton


Kiss the DeadKiss the Dead by Laurell K. Hamilton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

"When a fifteen-year-old girl is abducted by vampires, it's up to U.S. Marshal Anita Blake to find her. And when she does, she's faced with something she's never seen before: a terrifyingly ordinary group of people--kids, grandparents, soccer moms--all recently turned and willing to die to avoid serving a master. And where there's one martyr, there will be more... 
But even vampires have monsters that they're afraid of. And Anita is one of them..."


It's taken me a good week after reading this to process the book enough to write a review.
I don't know if 3 stars is me being slightly harsh but I just couldn't force myself to give it 4 stars. 3 and a half yes but 4, NO.
I liked the storyline and I loved the fact that it had all my favourite characters in it. Actually Edward was missing so I guess it didn't have them all but almost all. Richard was nowhere in sight... Yippy... And finally  ****TINY SPOILER**** people are getting pissed off with Asher.... Woohoo. Boy.. his jealousy and self loathing is doing my head in.

I really enjoyed it but when I finished,it left me feeling disappointed it just wasn't meaty enough. Yes Anita had a RPIT case, Yes she had sex numerous times with numerous lovers... Yes there was shootouts, bombs and hostage takings... BUT there was just something missing. It just wasn't quite ...... Right...

Hopefully the next one is meatier!


View all my reviews

The Initiation (The Secret Circle #1) by L.J. Smith


The Initiation (The Secret Circle, #1)The Initiation by L.J. Smith
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"The circle's power has lured her home

Forced to move from sunny California to gloomy New England, Cassie longs for her old life. Even so, she feels a strange kinship to a terrifying group of teens who seem to rule her school. Initiated into the coven of witches that's controlled New Salem for hundreds of years, she's drawn into the Secret Circle, a thrill that's both intoxicating and deadly. But when she falls for the mysterious and intriguing Adam, Cassie must choose whether to resist temptation or risk dark forces to get what she wants—even if it means that one wrong move could ultimately destroy her."


I enjoyed this a lot more than I expected. I picked it up after watching the TV show, so I enjoyed seeing how well the actors had done portraying the characters. Especially Faye. A fellow fan of the show recommended it to me. I'm not sure if I would of been as gripped by the story if I didn't already have that conection with the characters (through the tv show) but I will definately carry on with the book series. I'm gutted the tv show has been cancelled. :(


View all my reviews

Monday, 21 May 2012

Winter's Bone by Daniel Woodrell


Winter's Bone: A NovelWinter's Bone: A Novel by Daniel Woodrell
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I heard good things about the movie that is based on this book, so I wanted to watch the movie. But I wanted to read the book first because I find if I read a book after watching the movie I can't really enjoy the book.

Anyways. What do I think about the book?

I really enjoyed the overall story, Ree Is a strong 16 year old, Having to deal with things 16 year olds shouldn't have to deal with. Her father has put the house and land they own up as bail and skipped town. He hasn't been seen since and his court case is next week. If he doesn't turn up at court Ree, her mother ---who has sunk into a terrible depression and does nothing but sit in a chair and stare all day and night.--- and her two brother's Sonny and Harold will lose everything and be left to survive with nothing. Ree has to hunt him down and take him to the police dead or alive to make certain they don't lose the roof over their heads. It's a mighty harsh path she chooses to take but it's her only option, she has no other choice. She must find her father.
It's a sad story and we see terrible things, terrible people and a terrible life they seem to live. But it also shows strength of character especially in Ree and How people can step forward and help whether it means they get caught up in your trouble or not.

I really did like this story but I wasn't too keen on they way it was written. I didn't understand what it was that I didn't like at first but I read a few reviews and after reading time and time again that it was written poetically, I figured that may be my problem, I am not one for the complicated poetry. Call me uneducated if you wish but I just don't get poetry. Never have and don't think I ever will.

I still recommend this book as everyone should take something from Ree's story. Everyone should try for even a smidgen of Ree's strength.


View all my reviews

Monday, 14 May 2012

Visitor Bob: A Horrible Short by Ellen C. Maze


Visitor Bob: A Horrible ShortVisitor Bob: A Horrible Short by Ellen C. Maze
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I found that this was a fun, yet horrible (as described in the title) short. A great little story to keep you entertained when you are stuck in a queue or waiting in the car for the kids to come out of school or Martial Arts. Everything I have read that Ellen has written always leaves me smiling. I hope Visitor Bob never pops into my room. :-/


View all my reviews

Beauty (An Anita Blake Sexy Outtake) by L.K. Hamilton

Beauty (An Anita Blake Sexy Outtake) by L.K. Hamilton


5 of 5 stars.


I had read a lot of reviews complaining that this isn't long enough and it didn't have any action in it. I found It was exactly what L.K. Hamilton advertised it as "a sex scene between Jean-Claude, Anita and Asher that got cut from KISS THE DEAD (out June 5)"
It was a HOT, HOT, HOT scene. It was great to see Asher full of confidence instead of his self pity. Ooh and the ever dominant Jean-Claude... Give me a bucket of cold water.. Quick sharp. We also got a sneak peek at Anita in action with stilettos and Vampire chests in a scene which will be in KISS THE DEAD.

Insurgent by Veronica Roth

Insurgent (Divergent, #2)Insurgent by Veronica Roth
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I give INSURGENT 3.5 stars.

I loved the story and feel like i would give 5 stars for the story and character angle the author went in. But the style of how she wrote it didn't seem to flow smoothly like DIVERGENT did. --I will have to reread DIVERGENT to make sure it wasn't written the same, but I don't remember noticing it so I think I am right to say it wasn't-- She gave us a scene and instead of finishing the scene off and smoothly lining us up for the next we got **** and a totally new scene. It was almost like she wrote the scenes as they came to her and instead of smoothing them all into a story she just plonked them into order an left it like that. It was like reading a tv show script. I just feel that we got ripped off a lot of story that we could of enjoyed more.

After saying all that I loved everything that went on with Tris, her journey of self discovery. Four/Tobias really annoyed me, he seemed to be on Tris' back most of the time. At one point I thought she should go for Uriah, which is something that would never cross my mind in DIVERGENT. Four did win me back with his last few sentences in the book. I just hope he stays that way in the next instalment. I don't like calling him Tobias, he will always be Four to me. maybe that why he was horrible in INSURGENT he was Tobias, not sweet Four.



View all my reviews

Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James


Fifty Shades Freed (Fifty Shades, #3)Fifty Shades Freed by E.L. James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was my favorite of the whole trilogy. I loved it. It was ended really well, everything wrapped up where it should. The author still used those ridiculous words and Grey's constantly using the word "come" really did my tree in... But I still loved it, I managed to over look those things.
I am so glad the hype made me pick these books up.


View all my reviews

Sunday, 6 May 2012

Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James


Fifty Shades Darker (Fifty Shades, #2)Fifty Shades Darker by E.L. James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house. 

But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven and demanding Fifty Shades. 

While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront the anger and envy of the women who came before her, and make the most important decision of her life.

I am loving this series. I was up until 4am finishing this last night, It obviously resulted in me waking with a pounding headache but oh well It was worth it.

I still have issues with the author using strange words like loquacious, inveigle, avaricious, taciturn and panacea to name just a few. Seriously what twenty something would really use words like that in everyday life?  I think the author swallowed a thesaurus whilst writing this book.

I was also really irritated that Christian Grey constantly said "Come" as an order to follow him or go with him. I was so ecstatic when at the 80% mark of my Kindle book he actually switched things up and said "let's go" If I wasn't sat down I would of fallen over. He spoilt it when he said "Come" again on the next page... and the next... and the next... and yep you guessed it... the next!

Even though I am complaining about these little things, I still can't give it less then 5 stars. I love the story/plot and characters way too much.
I am now going straight for the third installment. Laters :)


View all my reviews

Saturday, 5 May 2012

Fair Game by Patricia Briggs

Fair Game (Alpha & Omega, #3)Fair Game by Patricia Briggs
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Patricia Briggs is one of my favourite authors. I love her Werewolf/Fae/Vampire world. This is another fabulous edition to her Alpha and Omega series. I am so glad we get to see more of Charles, Anna and Bran who we have seen pop up sometimes in her other series (Mercedes Thompson Series) I can not wait to find out how what they Fae did at the end of this is going to affect the Werewolves in the next book from both of these series.
Charles and Anna are having trouble with their relationship due to the role Charles plays as the boogeyman of the wolves. The FBI needs help to find a serial killer who has been killing werewolves, Anna goes to help as a werewolf consultant taking Charles as her bodyguard. Can they catch the killer before they become the next victim.
Brilliant plot, full of action, awesome as always.. :)

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 2 May 2012

Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L.James

Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, #1)Fifty Shades of Grey by E.L. James
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I picked this book up because the huge hype about it intrigued me. Previous books that have been raved about I have avoided for a long time thinking they will no doubt be a disappointment. But recently I gave in to two other hyped about series and fell in love with them, so I thought I would believe the hype over this trilogy too. I am so glad I did.
This book belongs in the erotica genre. One of the main characters are heavily involved in the BDSM world. It's very steamy and kinky. I am not ashamed to say I loved every page of it. ;)
The only thing that bugged me was the fact that the author used words I had never heard of before, I was glad I was reading this on a kindle because I had the ability to use the built in dictionary when I came across an unusual word, which was quite often. The main characters where meant to be in their 20's, I am in my late 20's and no twenty-something year old that I know including myself, would use half of those 'Unusual words'. There are many other words that meant the same thing, I felt the author was just... dare I say 'showing off'?! Now I may be less educated then the MC as I did not attend university like her but I don't believe that she would use words like that on such a regular basis, English Lit student or not.
I think the title would of been more fitting if it was 'Fifty Shades of Fucked up" as one of the characters referred to themselves as that a few times throughout the book, quite rightly so too. But I guess some people in stores may find that an offensive title and it would be hidden on high up/out of sight shelves and not sell well.
Don't get me wrong I still love the book --I gave it 5 stars for crying out loud-- and will be moving straight onto "Fifty Shades Darker" regardless of the irritating unneeded words. I love the main characters and can't wait to find out whats going to happen to Ana and Christian next. I definitely recommend this as long as you are not scared of floggers and cable ties.

View all my reviews

Tuesday, 1 May 2012

Archangel's Blade by Nalini Singh


Archangel's Blade (Guild Hunter, #4)Archangel's Blade by Nalini Singh
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"The severed head marked by a distinctive tattoo on its cheek should have been a Guild case, but dark instincts honed over hundreds of years of life compel the vampire Dmitri to take control. There is something twisted about this death, something that whispers of centuries long past...but Dmitri's need to discover the truth is nothing to the vicious strength of his response to the hunter assigned to decipher the tattoo...."

I was pleasantly surprised when I started this book and found it was based around Dmitri. It was the most erotic of the series yet, but that is expected with Dmitri being the most seductive Vampire in New York. I loved getting to know his past and seeing him move into the future. He is definitely on of my favorite of Raphael's Seven. I'm hoping we are going to get a book for each of the Seven because Illuim, Jason, Venom and Aodhan intrigue me.


View all my reviews

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, #1)Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

"All the creatures of the night gather in "the Hollows" of Cincinnati, to hide, to prowl, to party...and to feed.

Vampires rule the darkness in a predator-eat-predator world rife with dangers beyond imagining - and it's Rachel Morgan's job to keep that world civilized.

A bounty hunter and witch with serious sex appeal and an attitude, she'll bring 'em back alive, dead...or undead"


I liked this story, but I finished it feeling like there was something missing, I can't put my finger on what it was.

The characters were all good characters, funny, well described, they all seem to have a mystery hanging around them. Ivy, Rachel's roommate has a few mysterious things about her like: Why is she helping Rachel? How come she lived in the church before Rachel moved in but made Rachel think it was the same day? I like the character Ivy but the WHYS are adding up and it is starting to bug me. Nick is similarly odd. The fact that Rachel doesn't question anything makes me think of her as weak.

Now Trent has that whole 'What is he?" question hanging over him. I like a good mystery but this book and its characters seem overloaded with it. Maybe thats what put me off giving it more stars. It flowed well, was full of action, but there wasn't really any romance, that could also be putting me off because I love a good romance.

I didn't see any of the "sex appeal" that was described in the above synopsis.

I will definitely read more of the series, even if it's just for Jenks, the only character that doesn't have any mystery to him. He is a funny little Pixie is Jenks.

View all my reviews

Monday, 30 April 2012

Archangel's Kiss by Nalini Singh

Archangel's Kiss (Guild Hunter, #2)Archangel's Kiss by Nalini Singh

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux wakes from a year-long coma to find herself changed—an angel with wings the colors of midnight and dawn—but her fragile body needs time to heal before she can take flight. Her lover, the stunningly dangerous archangel Raphael, is used to being in control—even when it comes to the woman he considers his own. But Elena has never done well with authority...

They’ve barely begun to understand each other when Raphael receives an invitation to a ball from the archangel Lijuan. To refuse would be a sign of fatal weakness, so Raphael must ready Elena for the flight to Beijing—and to the nightmare that awaits them there. Ancient and without conscience, Lijuan holds a power that lies with the dead. And she has organized the most perfect and most vicious of welcomes for Elena…


We start off where Angel's blood left us. Elena in a deep coma recovering from the damage that had been inflicted upon her in the battle with the Archangel Uram. I got through this book so quick. It captured me and wouldn't let me go until I had turned that last page. Then I had to go out and get the next installment straight away.

View all my reviews

Angel's Blood by Nalini Singh


 Angels' Blood  (Guild Hunter, #1)Angels' Blood by Nalini Singh

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Vampire hunter Elena Deveraux knows she is the best- but she does not know if even she is good enough for this job. Hired by the dangerously beautiful archangel Raphael, a being so lethal that no mortal wants his attention, Elena knows failure is not an option—even if the task is impossible.

Because this time, it's not a wayward vamp she has to track. It's an archangel gone bad.

The job will put Elena in the midst of a killing spree like no other—and pull her to the razor's edge of passion. Even if the hunt does not destroy her, succumbing to Raphael’s seductive touch just might. For when archangels play, mortals break.


I was only going to give this 4 stars because it started out slow, there was a lot of explaining as its the first book of a series and she needed to lay out the characters and the world. So it was a slow start. But boy did it get good. It ended so well I had to give it 5 stars. I loved all the characters we get to meet. I can not wait to get book 2 and get to know these characters even more..

View all my reviews

Monday, 16 April 2012

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

The Fault in Our StarsThe Fault in Our Stars by John Green

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer at 12, Hazel was prepared to die until, at 14, a medical miracle shrunk the tumours in her lungs... for now.

Two years post-miracle, sixteen-year-old Hazel is post-everything else, too; post-high school, post-friends and post-normalcy. And even though she could live for a long time (whatever that means), Hazel lives tethered to an oxygen tank, the tumours tenuously kept at bay with a constant chemical assault.

Enter Augustus Waters. A match made at cancer kid support group, Augustus is gorgeous, in remission, and shockingly to her, interested in Hazel. Being with Augustus is both an unexpected destination and a long-needed journey, pushing Hazel to re-examine how sickness and health, life and death, will define her and the legacy that everyone leaves behind."


WOW..... What a book!

The first half of this book was so funny, that at times I found myself crying with laughter. Then about halfway through the tears became heartbroken, sad tears. This is a beautiful and moving story. I have recently lost someone very close to me to cancer and I think Hazel's story helped me with the anger towards cancer in regards to that loss.

I loved it so much so I could not put it down, I finished it in one sitting. It was so worth the headache from all the crying it left me with.





View all my reviews

Thursday, 5 April 2012

Defying the Sheikh by Michelle Hughes

Defying the Sheikh by Michelle Hughes

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars

"Michaela Rosewood had spent her entire life fighting against the society that demanded she conform to the rigid standards for a lady of breeding. One fateful meeting with a Sheikh would alter her future forever.

His gorgeous face would not sway her from the disgust she felt on his country's horrible treatment of women. When her own defiance pulls them into a marriage bond, she vows to make his life a living hell.

The passion soars when two conflicting views of life are thrown together and tempers abound. Who will be the victor when desire and rage combine into one explosive love affair that has them both demanding to be in control? 
Can love be born when her only happiness is found in defying the Sheikh?"

This is the first time I have read any of Michelle Hughes work and I loved it. I struggled right along side Michaela, Undecided on whether desire or disgust towards The Sheikh should win, to be honest I am still undecided. I found myself feeling like I was in her shoes, Armon's way of life is so very different to the one I was brought up in that I found myself distraught at times over the things Michaela had to face. There were many hot and steamy scenes in this novella, you may find yourself left needing a cold shower after you have finished reading it.

I am looking forward to reading more by this author.

Whisper a Scream: Noche Files I by Pete Turner

Whisper a Scream: Noche Files I by Pete Turner

My Rating: 5 of 5 stars.

"I know evil exists, I met it face to face Solomon Noche is a therapist in the seemingly normal small town of Retselville, Kentucky dealing with displaced anger toward God after his family dies tragically. Nightmares encapsulate him where an ancient demonic cult sacrifices children in Retselville. Despite Sol’s protest, God chooses him to stop them. This discovery thrusts him into a journey where reality and psychosis blur as a nightmarish figure torments him with riddles and time-traveling horrors."

Whisper a Scream is full of twists and turns. It has everything you would want in a book mystery, suspense, lots of thrills and spine tingling chills. I really enjoyed this book, It kept me guessing right through to the last page. Well Done Mr Turner.