Tuesday, 29 November 2011

Strawberry Shortcake Murder by Joanne Fluke

Strawberry Shortcake Murder (Hannah Swensen, #2)Strawberry Shortcake Murder by Joanne Fluke

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I love the yummy recipes in these books. The characters are fun but I found this book being very slow compared to the first book in the series. It took about three quarters of the book before it started to get interesting.
Hannah's indecision over Mike and Norman is starting to bug me and I'm only in book 2 I think it's going to go on for a long while, love triangles usually do.
I will keep reading these books, they are a good, easy reading 'who dun it?'
With delicious recipes. :)

View all my reviews

Sunday, 20 November 2011

Glory In Death by J.D. Robb


Glory in DeathGlory in Death by J.D. Robb

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
 
"It is 2058, New York City. In a world where technology can reveal the darkest of secrets, there's only one place to hide a crime of passion-in the heart.

Even in the mid-twenty-first century, during a time when genetic testing usually weeds out any violent hereditary traits before they can take over, murder still happens. The first victim is found lying on a sidewalk in the rain. The second is murdered in her own apartment building. Police Lieutenant Eve Dallas has no problem finding connections between the two crimes. Both victims were beautiful and highly successful women. Their glamorous lives and loves were the talk of the city. And their intimate relations with men of great power and wealth provide Eve with a long list of suspects-including her own lover, Roarke."


I enjoy this series. Its an easy read, with quirky characters and a good 'who dun it' what more could you ask for? 


Oh yes the mysterious Roarke! ;)

View all my reviews
 

Damascus Road by Ellen C. Maze


Damascus Road (The Corescu Chronicles Book Two)Damascus Road by Ellen C. Maze

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
 
"How far would you go to protect the innocent?
Giving up your life to save a stranger is one thing, but subject yourself to constant torture in an effort to save some people you've never met? This is the kind of man you'll find in Tony Agricola; survivor of Book One: The Judging.

Tony will sacrifice his very blood so the town can sleep safe at night. Would you?"


Wow, Ellen has done it yet again. What a fantastic trip she just sent me on.
I seem to fall in love with every new character Ellen brings in to her books.

In this instalment Tony is on a mission to save Paul from his evil vampire ways. Tony is determined to keep him on a tight rein but Paul finds himself another preacher Big John Jenkins. Will two preachers be enough to placate him? 

I have loved every one of Ellen's books and short stories that I have picked up. I recommend her books to everyone.

View all my reviews
 

Emma's Dragon: A fairly Horrible Love Story by Ellen C. Maze


Emma's Dragon: A Fairly Horrible Love StoryEmma's Dragon: A Fairly Horrible Love Story by Ellen C. Maze

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
 
"Famous children's book illustrator, Emma Topp, saw a dragon while camping alone at Tom Bailey Lake. Should she tell anyone? Braving to share her sighting with handsome and dashing Deputy Trevor Lucas, Emma might have bitten off more than she can chew."

I've had my eye on this short story since it was added to Amazon. The cover is eye catching and the title made me curious. I finally got round to buying it today and finished it in no time.

I think the fairly in the title was an understatement. 


Ellen you've done it again, I loved the story, it captured me so much that when I had finished, I found my forgotten cup of tea cold.

A fabulous read I would recommend to anyone with a spare 30 minutes.

View all my reviews
 

Flash and Bones by Kathy Reichs

Flash and BonesFlash and Bones by Kathy Reichs

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


"A body is found in a barrel of asphalt next to Lowes Motor Speedway near Charlotte just as 200,000 fans are pouring into town for race week. The next day, a NASCAR crew member shares with Tempe a devastating story. Twelve years earlier his sister, Cyndi Gamble, then a high school senior who wanted to be a professional racecar driver, disappeared along with her boyfriend, Cale Lovette. Lovette kept company with a group of right wing extremists known as the Patriot Posse. Is the body Cyndi’s? Or Cale’s?

At the time of their disappearance, the FBI joined the investigation, but the search was quickly terminated. As Tempe is considering multiple theories, including an FBI cover-up, a surprising, secret substance is found with the body, leaving Tempe to wonder what exactly the government was up to. . ."


I really enjoyed this book. I have never read a Kathy Reichs book before and was so glad I gave her ago.
The main character Dr Brennan isn't quite as weird/quirky as she is in the TV series "Bones", But I think I liked that. I will definitely grab her books again.

View all my reviews

City of Angels by Cassandra Clare

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)City of Fallen Angels by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I am really disappointed with this book. It kept me reading but only to get to the good bit, that didn't really arrive. It was just full of Jace hating himself even more for reason's out of his control. I didn't think it was possible for some one to hate themselves so much, but Jace definitely hits a record in this installment. I wanted the happy Jace and Clary, which I think we managed one paragraph of in the whole book. Or was that one of Jace's self loathing dreams? Yes you read that right, He didn't even have to be awake to be hating himself.

There were bits I liked, like Maia and Jordan and Simon and Isabelle. But Jace brought it all down. :(

View all my reviews

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

Odd Thomas (Odd Thomas, #1)Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"The dead don't talk. I don't know why.” But they do try to communicate, with a short-order cook in a small desert town serving as their reluctant confidant. Odd Thomas thinks of himself as an ordinary man, maybe he has a gift, maybe it’s a curse, Odd has never been sure, but he tries to do his best by the silent souls who seek him out. Sometimes they want justice, and Odd’s otherworldly tips to Pico Mundo's sympathetic police chief, Wyatt Porter, can solve a crime. Occasionally they can prevent one. But this time it's different.


A mysterious man comes to town with a voracious appetite, a filing cabinet stuffed with information on the world's worst killers, and a pack of hyena-like shades following him wherever he goes. Who the man is and what he wants, not even Odd’s deceased informants can tell him. His most ominous clue is a page ripped from a day-by-day calendar for August 15. 

Today is August 14."

A friend of mine recommended this to me and I am so glad he did.


This book was a great read, but I did find Odd babbled alot.It wasn't too predictable and I loved the fact that Odd gets visit's from "the King of Rock 'n' Roll", Elvis. :)

I did not guess the end, infact I was that shocked I had to read the sentence (if you've read it you'll know which one I mean) three times over before I believed what I was reading. Lol...

Very good Mr Koontz, very good.

View all my reviews

Envy by J.R. Ward

Envy (The Fallen Angels, #3)Envy by J.R. Ward

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Synopsis ~ "Seven deadly sins. Seven souls to save. And a man and a woman treading the lines of danger, desire and deliverance ...As the son of a serial killer, homicide detective Thomas DelVecchio Jr grew up in the shadow of evil. Now, on the knife-edge between civic duty and blind retribution, he atones for the sins of his father. Hired to monitor Veck is Internal Affairs officer Sophia Reilly, whose interest in Veck is both professional and arousingly personal. But Veck and Sophia have a common interest. He's Jim Herron, a mysterious stranger enlisted to save the soul of a killer's latest victim, one precariously hovering between heaven and hell. Before Herron's job is done, Veck and Sophia will be inexorably drawn into a battle of good against evil, where the risk is nothing less than total damnation."

I'll start by saying I love how J.R. Ward has connected this Fallen Angels series with Black Dagger Brotherhood, her other series. I was so happy to see Veck is a main character, I wanted to get to know him more after Lover Unleashed.He is such a complex and confused man.

Overall I loved this book just like I have loved everyone of J.R. Ward's book's, she is an amazing writer. Most her main characters are men and she has their dialogue down to a T. I forget that it's actually a woman that has written these books.

I'm three books into this series and I still can't figure out who 'Dog' is.. He is obviously not an ordinary dog and Jim knows that... The question is Who is he???

One of my favourite quotes out of this book:

“[Devina] “You know, Adrian, you ever get bored with being a Goody Two-shoes, you could come over to my side.”
“Because you have cookies, right.”
Those black eyes returned to his own. “And so much more.”
“Well, I’m on a diet. Sorry—but thanks for the invite.”
J.R. Ward, Envy
 
View all my reviews

Afterlife by Claudia Gray

Afterlife (Evernight, #4)Afterlife by Claudia Gray

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Synopsis ~ "Destiny awaits Bianca and Lucas . . .
Bianca and Lucas have always believed they could endure anything to be together. When a twist of fate not only transforms Bianca into a wraith but also turns Lucas into a vampire—the very creature he spent his life hunting—they are left reeling.
Haunted by his powerful need to kill, Lucas can turn to only one place for help . . . Evernight Academy. Bianca is determined to remain with him. But with the vampire leader of Evernight waging a war against wraiths, her former home has become the most dangerous place she could be, despite the new powers her ghostly transformation has given her.
A battle between wraiths and vampires looms, and Bianca and Lucas face a terrifying new reality. They've overcome every obstacle life has thrown at them, but is their love strong enough to survive the challenges after life?"

I was really disappointed how the last book, Hourglass ended. That's why I waited so long to read this last one. But I'm so glad I put my concerns aside and picked this up. It was Fab.
I can't say much without spoiling so I'll just leave you with one sentence..... Read it ASAP. :)

View all my reviews

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

Mockingjay (The Hunger Games, #3)Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Synopsis ~ "Young Katniss Everdeen has survived the dreaded Hunger Games not once, but twice, but even now she can find no relief. In fact, the dangers seem to be escalating: President Snow has declared an all-out war on Katniss, her family, her friends, and all the oppressed people of District 12. The thrill-packed final installment of Suzanne Collins' Hunger Games trilogy will keep young hearts
pounding."

Oh my.. I balled my eyes out most of the way through this book and loved every word of it.

View all my reviews

Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

Catching Fire (The Hunger Games, #2)Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Synopsis ~ "Katniss Everdeen and Peeta Mellark won the annual competition described in Hunger Games, but the aftermath leaves these victors with no sense of triumph. Instead, they have become the poster boys for a rebellion that they never planned to lead. That new, unwanted status puts them in the bull's-eye for merciless revenge by The Capitol..."

Wow.. I really did pick this up immediately after finishing The Hunger Games And could not put the bugger down. I was so engrossed. All I can say is it is jam packed full of twists and turns. Now I am going to go bury myself in Mockingjay :)

View all my reviews

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games (Hunger Games, #1)The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This book would of gotten 5 stars but I struggled to get into it. I had to read a good 30% of the book before I couldn't put it down. So for that reason I only thought it fair to have 4 stars.

 Synopsis ~ "In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV. Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she is forced to represent her district in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before-and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that weigh survival against humanity and life against love."
This may have some tiny spoilers. It's a hard one to review without spoiling it.

I love the whole concept of the story. I guess it's a more brutal immoral form of Big Brother, but with teenagers as the contestants. Katniss is a great character but she bugged me when she didn't get Peeta's feelings.

I'm going to open the next book right now just so I can find out what happens with Peeta and Katniss next, now that they are home. Not to mention what is Gales reaction going to be about it all.

View all my reviews

Bloodlines by Richelle Mead

BloodlinesBloodlines by Richelle Mead

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I'm a HUGE Richelle Mead fan, I have read all of her series and love them all for their own reason's. I was gutted when I heard that Last Sacrifice was the last in her Vampire Academy Series. So when I heard that Richelle was starting a new series that was a spin-off to Vampire Academy, I was extremely happy.

The main character/narrator of this book is Sydney, who we first met in Blood Promise. Obviously Richelle kept us in the dark about which other characters were going to be featured, dropping hints here and there. I, along with all other VA fans; was hoping that one of those characters would be Adrian. We left him heartbroken by Rose in Last Sacrifice and I felt a need to see more of him and hopefully see him recover and move on.

We start to see a possible love connection between Sydney and Adrian that did get on my nerves a little and I found myself shouting at the pages. "Just Kiss, damn you!"

Eddie was another character from VA that was in Bloodlines, but I felt he needed a bigger part in this story. At the end it showed potential that the next book might give us that.

We were given a new character called Micah. I'm just not too sure about what I think of him. There is a connection (if you want to call it that) between him and Mason, (whom died in on of the VA books) that Eddie picks up on. It affects Eddie quite a lot. I'm not sure if that connection is what puts me off Micah or if it's just the name. As I read another series by Laurell K. Hamilton which has a Micah who debuts in Micah, He is THE Micah. Maybe I should call Richelle's Micah, Michael as I read and see if that helps.

The only problem I had with Bloodlines is that I found it was just too predictable! I was hitting my head with the book every time it hinted at Jill's attack/rescue. The other main Tattoo thing was really predictable too. But saying all that I loved being in Sydney's head and loved getting to see Adrian too.

So definitely want to read the next one, especially since a certain person walked in the door at the end. It sounds like he might be staying for a while too. ;)

View all my reviews

Dragonswan by Sherrilyn Kenyon

Dragonswan (Dark-Hunter, #1.5; Were-Hunter, #1)Dragonswan by Sherrilyn Kenyon

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This was great short story, and wow was it full of steamy, hot sex scenes. So full in fact I didn't realise it was only 80 odd pages long. I got a phone call right in the middle of one of these scenes by a telesales person, lets just say I was so pissed at the disruption; they won't be ringing back again.

I don't know where to start with this review...Ok here it is in 5 words---> Sexy Sebastian, Wowza! MUST READ. ;)






View all my reviews

The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's Guide by J.R. Ward

The Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's GuideThe Black Dagger Brotherhood: An Insider's Guide by J.R. Ward

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I've never read "An insider's Guide" to a series before. I put it off for a long time thinking it would be a boring recap of the series so far. I was proved so wrong when I picked this up.

This book has all sorts of fun brotherhood information in it. Firstly there is a Novella called 'Father Mine' which is based on Zsadist and Bella. I love Zsadist. He is one of my favourite brothers. There's lots of advice in here for aspiring writers, information on publishing, agents and editors. It gives a good insight into JR's writing process which was very eye opening. There's also a section called 'Kicks and giggles' which is some of JR's favourite quotes and smart ass comments the brothers have come out with in the books. Then there is also a section with posts that the brothers have put on the BDB message boards. Which were really funny.

I am so glad I bought this BDB, Insider's Guide. I feel like I know the brothers even better now.

View all my reviews

Dark Fever by Karen Marie Moning

Darkfever (Fever, #1)Darkfever by Karen Marie Moning

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I was undecided on whether I should give it 3 or 4 stars. I decided on 3 because the story wasn't that fab. Towards the end it picked its pace up and did reel me into the story more, so I am interested in seeing what happens in the next installment.

It was the character Jericho Barrons that had kept me reading this book. Barrons is such a interesting mystery I found myself skimming some of the duller bits to find any information on him, I could. He isn't like other male character's that you fall for while reading and want to read more because they are just so damn sexy. He is something else entirely, i can't put my finger on it, he's alluring and fascinating. I definitely want to learn more about him.

The story starts with MacKayla Lane an ordinary 22 year old from Georgia, telling us her story...

Her sister Alina has been murdered in Ireland and the only clue to the murderer is a confusing voice mail message on Mac's cell phone. She goes to Ireland to talk the Police into keeping Alina's case open. But falls into a world of Fae. She uncovers Truths about her sister and herself that has been kept from her by her parents all her life.

Mac runs into Jericho Barrons, he seems to be the only person that can and will answer her question's, well some of them anyway. As much as she doesn't trust him any further then she can throw him. She finds her self going back to him in need of help. Mac agrees to help Jericho find the elusive "Sinsar Dubh" --that her sister mentioned on that voice mail message--- and hopefully it will lead her to her sisters murderer. Barrons leads Mac not only deeper into the Fae world, but also into the world of a mobster ex-boxer, and a vampire's lair....

A great piece of advice from Barrons that will stick with me for a long time is ".....if there's one thing I've learned in life it's this: assume makes an ass out of u and me.

a sight from the book that will never leave my mind: Barrons painting nails... LMAO.

View all my reviews

Monday, 20 June 2011

Wisp by Kevin R. Maze

WispWisp by Kevin R. Maze

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Ellerton, Alabama is a small town with practically no crime, and no homicides in five years. So Sheriff Stan Murphy is surprised when he is called out to investigate a death at Bowers Field, a popular hunting spot. Instead of finding an accidental shooting, he finds the mangled body of prominent business man Edwin Price. The 47-year-old real estate broker does not appear to be the victim of any known wildlife; in fact, there’s very little physical evidence except the presence of misshapen footprints that disappear just a few feet away from the body.

Alex Fiedler is a reporter for The International Paranormal Reader and also Murphy’s nephew, who is in town to interview an alleged UFO abductee. Joins Murphy on a quest to find the elusive killer the papers refer to as “the Shadow Man.” A search that offers more questions than answers. A search for a figure of unspeakable horror that just may not be human…

Over the course of the next week, the people of this quiet town face its worse nightmares, transforming this restful hamlet into a community of fear.

Kevin R. Maze takes the reader on a ride with this book. It's a crime mystery, thriller with a paranormal element to it. It's been a long time since I have read a book that I couldn't guess who the bad guy was. With Wisp I had no idea, I suspected a couple of the characters and was so for from the truth it was ridiculous. Lol.

I found Kevin R. Maze's writing so descriptive. I was right there with Sheriff Murphy and his nephew Alex on there Quest to find "The Shadow Man"

I found that this book reminded me a little of Lee Child's, Jack Reacher series. But with a paranormal twist.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a mystery/thriller.


View all my reviews

Saturday, 18 June 2011

Lover Unleashed By J R. Ward

Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood, #9)Lover Unleashed (Black Dagger Brotherhood #9) by J.R. Ward

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

***********This may contain SPOILERS***********
Sorry it's such a long review, but there was just so much to discuss about it. LOL
 
Wow. where do I start? This is yet another amazing installment for the Black Dagger Brotherhood series.

I was meant to be reading this with two friends of mine. I managed to stay on track for a day but I just can't read only a few chapters at a time. I don't know how anyone can. If I pick a book up and enjoy it, I have to finish it. Honestly that book goes everywhere with me until I have turned that last page. When my husband catches me with the book tucked under my arm or in my hand whilst cooking with the other, he calls me crazy.. my only response is "My name is Aimie and I'm a Book addict" :P
So ladies, I'm sorry I didn't have the will power to keep at pace with you both. 

Although this is Payne and Manny's story I felt it wasn't as completely theirs as previous books are the main couples. They didn't feature as the main couple, it was more a shared book between Payne and Manny; Vishous and Jane; and Xcor and his Band of Bastards. Qhuinn and Blay where also featured a great deal which has got me extremely concerned about future storyline's which I will get to later.

One thing missing from this book was Lesser and Omega stuff, we still had the lesser fights and the BDB guys kicking ass. But we didn't get the POV from Mr X or Mr O or whoever is the newest leader of those guys. We didn't hear about the Omega's reaction to Lash's death either,  (that could of been in Lover Mine and I just can't remember it, But I don't think it was there either) Actually did Lash die? I can't remember. With there being no Lesser POV we don't get to know anything about Qhuinn's brother who Lash had kept on ice. Will he ever be found? In previous books I tended to skim through the Lesser POV parts but with them totally non-existent here in Lover Unleashed I actually missed them a little. I never thought I would say that, But I did.

The Lesser's where replaced by Xcor and his Band of Bastards, whom I find very  interesting. As much as he seems like a mean bastard, His reaction after Payne told him the truth about the Bloodletter was honorable and sweet. His soldier Throe, seems to be a nice guy in a bad gang. He has a conscience and I think he will be Xcor's reason of failure to take Wrath's throne. Well I am bloody hoping Xcor doesn't take Wrath's throne.

Another thing J.R. Ward didn't hit on in this book which the last book seemed to be leading to was Mhurder. A member of the Brotherhood whom everyone thinks is dead having been driven crazy after Xhex had been captured many years ago. he was the "Ghost" that the Ghost hunters in Lover Mine where investigating. It was a huge part of lover mine and at the very end we found out it was him. In this book his name was mentioned at one point, When Vishous was thinking about feeling empty without Jane in his life. "The loss of shellan can make you crazy." I thought ah here we go, we are going to get to see him, but Nope. Nothing.

J.R. Ward didn't cut the storyline's off at intense moments and take you elsewhere leaving you in suspense and skimming to get back to that cliffhanger like she did in other books. Which I was glad of, it all ran smoothly and she seemed to leave at the right points and come back perfectly too.

Payne and Manny are a great couple. Manny is such a funny smart-ass, he fits in perfectly with the BDB gang. I guessed he was a halfbreed -- without knowing -- pretty early on since he was having that strong dark spicy scent and the mating  feelings of possession etc. When anyone ever mentioned that he was "only a human." I found myself chanting "No he's not" in a sing song tone. LOL

Payne's healing/regeneration power seems pretty good. I'm dying to find out where J.R. Ward is going to take us with this. She could heal Wrath's blindness or Mary (I can't remember what is wrong with Mary --I will have to go back and start from the beginning with Dark Lover-- but I am certain there is something, infertility maybe?) I don't think she will be able to bring Jane back from being a ghost. But that would be great if she could so that she and V could have a baby. Maybe she could get rid of Z's slave marks. Regenerate Phury's leg.. The possibilities are endless.

My husband gave me some strange looks when I was LOL-ing to myself. I'd be like oh Butch just said something funny, and I'd have to read him the conversation I was laughing at. I did that many times throughout this book.
One comment from Butch to V remains in my mind even now. I am still giggling just thinking about it.
"All I see are ankles and wrists -- and FYI, you're pulling a Miley- frickin' -Cyrus with that belly flash. Not attractive."
V's response was just as good of course "Fuck off. I can't help it that you're a god-damn midget."
I love Butch and V banter.

Getting to see Vishous fall apart was good. It showed that even though he's had his "Happy Ever After" with Jane. Life still goes on and shit happens, even to the brother's. V is one of my favourite's so it was nice to see him and his dirty perverted mind again.


My heart breaks for Qhuinn and Blaylock. Honestly they need their heads banging together and I was Oh so willing to do it many times during this book. I have a REALLY REALLY bad feeling that we are not going to get the Qhuinn and Blay happy ever after story we want though. I have a horrible feeling that in Tohr's book --- which JR informed us is next and called Lover Reborn--- Layla will come into her needing period and Qhuinn being his gorgeous gentlemanly self will offer to help her and serve her need. Which is where his "vision" of the girl he thinks is his and Layla's daughter comes into things. It's so obvious and heart breaking. Then when she ends up pregnant he's going to have to care for her and be with her or the brothers will think he's a dick. Damn that's so not fair and Blay will stay with Sax thinking Qhuinn and Layla are happy in love, they will all be miserable and I will be tearing my hair out... A good outcome would be that Blay and Qhuinn get together and Layla becomes a surrogate for them but as if that would happen. That's just too good to be true.

So as much as I can't wait to see Tohr's story, I'm kinda dreading it. I'll have the kleenex ready and waiting, I have a feeling I'm going to need them. Alot..






View all my reviews

Thursday, 16 June 2011

Revenge By Sharon Osbourne

RevengeRevenge by Sharon Osbourne

My rating: 5 of 5 stars



Amber and Chelsea Stone are sisters who share the same dream - huge, global fame. As children they were close, but success has pulled them apart. Both have the looks, the talent, and the star quality - but only one has the ruthless ambition to make it to the very top. And she will stop at nothing to get what she wants.

This book was brilliant. Quirky and engaging. Sharon Osbourne did a great job, her personality shines through this book.



View all my reviews

Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead

Succubus Shadows (Georgina Kincaid, #5)Succubus Shadows by Richelle Mead (Georgina Kincaid #5)


My rating: 5 of 5 stars




Georgina Kincaid has formidable powers. Immortality, seduction, shape-shifting into any human form she desires, walking in heels that would cripple mere mortals-all child's play to a succubus like her.

Helping to plan her ex-boyfriend's wedding is a different story. Georgina isn't sure which is worse-that Seth is marrying another woman, or that Georgina has to run all over Seattle trying on bridesmaid dresses. Still, there are distractions. Georgina's roommate, Roman, is cluttering her apartment with sexual tension. Then there's Simone, the new succubus in town, who's intent on corrupting Seth.

But the real danger lies in the mysterious force that's visiting her thoughts, trying to draw her into a dark, otherworldly realm. Sooner or later, Georgina knows she'll be too weak to resist. And when that happens, she'll discover who she can trust, who she can't-and that Hell is far from the worst place to spend eternity...


Another fantastic installment in the life of Seattle's succubus Georgina Kincaid.

We got to relive a lot of Georgina's/Letha's memories throughout her time on the earth which was great insight into her circle of "shitty" life that she seems to keep falling into. Poor Georgina. 

Things are finally making sense and I think I have figured out the "Flaw" with her contract and her connection with Seth. But I guess I won't find out if my inklings are correct until I get to read the next one. Which I believe is the final of the series, so I guess everything will wrap up and Richelle with give us all those answers we have been seeking throughout the series.

I love Roman and Carter so much. I would love to see a spin off series with one of these two as the main character.



View all my reviews

Hourglass by Claudia Gray

Hourglass (Evernight #3)Hourglass (Evernight #3) by Claudia Gray

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Bianca will risk everything to be with Lucas.

After escaping from Evernight, the vampire boarding school where they met, Bianca and Lucas seek refuge with Black Cross, an elite group of vampire hunters. Bianca must hide her supernatural heritage or risk certain death at its hands. But when Black Cross captures her friend—the vampire Balthazar—all her secrets threaten to come out.

Soon, Bianca and Lucas are on the run, pursued not only by Black Cross, but by the powerful vampires of Evernight. Yet no matter how far they run, Bianca can't escape her destiny. Bianca and Lucas have always believed their love could survive anything—but can it survive what's to come?


This Book was awesome. There were so many twist's and turns that happened, that I didn't see coming. I picked this book up and finished it in the one sitting.

I love the relationship between Lucas and Bianca. But I still love Balthazar. I don't know what it is about him but I just want to see more of him. We got to see Ranulf and Vic abit too, which was nice because they are another two of my favourites out of this series. We got to see afew deaths, I won't spoil anything by saying who they are but I was glad to say good riddance to one of those characters.

I can not wait to read the next installment Afterlife!



View all my reviews

Monday, 6 June 2011

Naked In Death by J D. Robb

Naked in Death 
(In Death, #1)Naked in Death (In Death #1) by J.D. Robb

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Here is the novel that started it all-the first book in J. D. Robb's number-one New York Times-bestselling In Death series, featuring New York City homicide detective Lieutenant Eve Dallas and Roarke.

"It is the year 2058, and technology now completely rules the world. But New York City Detective Eve Dallas knows that the irresistible impulses of the human heart are still ruled by just one thing-passion.

When a senator's daughter is killed, the secret life of prostitution she'd been leading is revealed. The high-profile case takes Lieutenant Eve Dallas into the rarefied circles of Washing-ton politics and society. Further complicating matters is Eve's growing attraction to Roarke, who is one of the wealthiest and most influential men on the planet, devilishly handsome . . . and the leading suspect in the investigation."


I really enjoyed this book, a good keep you guessing who the killer is story with romance and action thrown in, all set in the future. :)
I'd definitely recommend.



View all my reviews
 

Stargazer by Claudia Gray

Stargazer (Evernight, #2)Stargazer (Evernight #2) by Claudia Gray

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


"Evernight Academy: an exclusive boarding school for the most beautiful, dangerous students of all-vampires. Bianca, born to two vampires, has always been told her destiny is to become one of them.

But Bianca fell in love with Lucas-a vampire hunter sworn to destroy her kind. They were torn apart when his true identity was revealed, forcing him to flee the school.

Although they may be separated, Bianca and Lucas will not give each other up. She will risk anything for the chance to see him again, even if it means coming face-to-face with the vampire hunters Black Cross-or deceiving the powerful vampires of Evernight. Bianca's secrets will force her live a life of lies.

Yet Bianca isn't the only one keeping secrets. When Evernight is attacked by an evil force that seems to target her, she discovers the truth thought she knew is only the beginning..."


This series is brilliant, both this book and the first I couldn't seem to put down once I started them.
Stargazer didn't have as big twists as Evernight did but it did still go in directions I didn't expect.
When Bianca was with Lucas I liked her with him but then when she was with Balthazar I wanted her with him.

I can't wait to pick up the next installment Hourglass. :)



View all my reviews

Dead Reckoning by Charlaine Harris

Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse, #11)Dead Reckoning (Sookie Stackhouse #11)by Charlaine Harris

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

"With her knack for being in trouble's way, Sookie witness' the fire bombing of Merlotte's, the bar where she works. Since Sam Merlotte is now known to be two-natured, suspicion falls immediately on the anti-shifters in the area. Sookie suspects otherwise, but her attention is divided when she realizes that her lover Eric Northman and his "child" Pam are plotting to kill the vampire who is now their master. Gradually, Sookie is drawn into the plot-which is much more complicated than she knows.."

Well I kinda feel a little deflated after reading this installment.
I found this book different from the earlier books, the last book was a similar disappointment.

It seemed to skim over things a lot, Charlaine didn't seem to really go into detail with anything. Like when she was describing fighting scene's she just rushed through them. "unknown enemy vamp #1 down." with a list of others down. It was just all so sketchy.

Throughout the book I found numerous paragraphs were really just Sookie rambling on about irrelevant things. Even Charlaine thought so as the paragraph ended with the statement. Irrelevant!

I love knowing whats happening with the characters because I love Charlaine's characters. But it seemed more like I was reading a bullet point memo about them rather then falling into their world like I did in the much earlier books.

I have always been an avid Eric fan, I have always believed they belong together. But I found myself irritated throughout this book by their relationship. I was wondering why there was no sex scenes and they got to one. ONE in the whole book, What? Really? just One?
And what a disappointment it was. It was not even worth her keeping it in. "He said "I'm going to tear your clothes"
"okay"
after an exciting few minutes he said "i'm tearing mine too" "
That was followed by some "go harder.. go go go" and an "is this hard enough""
WTF was Charlaine thinking when she wrote this? there have been way better sex scenes in her books then this. This one lasted 16 lines? In my opinion, from what I have gathered about Eric reading previous books, he would not ask permission to tear clothes off. I don't even think Sookie would ask him to go harder. I don't know it was just odd.

I even found myself wanting Dermot to get with Sookie, even though he is her Great-Uncle, ICK.. I think Sookie needs to leave town and find a normal guy, they all seem to have an agenda and I'm fed up of her whining over it. She knows she is valuable to all the different supe's, for one reason or another. So she should leave town and cut off contact, and start afresh. The only person I think loves her for who she is and not what she is, is Sam Merlotte. He seems to be the only genuine one around.



All in all. It was an okay read, but I won't rush out for the next installment when it comes out.



View all my reviews

Succubus Heat by Richelle Mead

Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid, #4)Succubus Heat (Georgina Kincaid #4) by Richelle Mead

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"Georgina Kincaid has been a bad, bad succubus...

…which should be a good thing. But lately, thanks to her foul mood over breaking up with bestselling writer Seth Mortensen, she’s been so wicked that Seattle’s über-demon Jerome, decides to “outsource” Georgina to a rival—and have her spy for him in the process.

Being exiled to the frozen north—okay, Vancouver—and leaving Seth in the cozy clutches of his new girlfriend is unpleasant enough. Then Jerome is kidnapped, and all immortals under his control mysteriously lose their powers. One bright spot: with her life-sucking ability gone, there’s nothing to keep Georgina from getting down and dirty with Seth—nothing apart from his girlfriend that is. Now, as the supernatural population starts turning on itself, a newly mortal Georgina must rescue her boss and figure out who’s been playing them—or all hell will break loose…"


Georgina's life just gets shittier, if that is even possible? 

This book had plenty of twists and turns, betrayal and loyalty, to keep me reading it until I turned that last page. I love Richelle Mead's characters. Roman and Carter are my favorites of all of Georgina's gang, they always seem to say the best things to piss Georgina off. It makes my laugh every time Carter leaves Georgina saying "F#$*ing Angels".

I'm looking forward to finding out what trouble Georgina's going to get into next. Because this girl knows how to attract trouble.


View all my reviews

Hit List by Laurell K. Hamilton

Hit ListHit List (Anita Blake #20) by Laurell K. Hamilton

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Cover synopsis: "My name is Anita Blake. The vampires call me 'The Executioner'. So when a series of gruesome and spectacular murders occur in the Pacific Northwest, the local police call in me and fellow US Marshal Edward to track down a serial killer they are convinced must be a 'monster'.

But I know that some monsters are very real. The Harlequin have been the bogeymen of the vampire world for more then a thousand years; they are a secret so dark that even to speak their name can earn you a death sentence. Now they are here in America, hunting weretigers and human police. And me.

The Harlequin serve the Mother of All Darkness, the first vampire. She was supposed to be dead, but only her body was destroyed. Now Mommie Darkest is back, determined to kill Edward and possess me. And she doesn't care how many others have to die along the way."

This one of the best Anita books I have read in a long time. It was like the earlier books with the crime scene's and the U.S Marshal politics. 

I also loved seeing Edward being such a huge part of this book. Most of the other books he's in, he tends to come in towards the end of the book, to help save the day. But he was fighting alongside Anita all the way from age one. We got more insight into Edwards life and feelings too, which was great. 


Although she was working away, hunting monsters we got to see some regulars like Domino and Nicky. And of course, No monster hunting party is complete without Bernardo and Olaf, even though I think he is more of a monster then the actual monsters! Plus we got to meet plenty of new faces too. One of them called Ethan who is rather Hot.. ;) 


Anita was Bad ass in this book. Laurell has reminded me of the reason I loved this series. Can't wait for the next book.




View all my reviews

Deception Point by Dan Brown

Deception PointDeception Point by Dan Brown

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

"When a new NASA satellite detects evidence of an astonishingly rare object buried deep in the Artic ice, the floundering space agency proclaims a much needed victory.... A victory that has profound implications for U.S. space policy and the impending presidential election.
With the Oval Office in the balance, the President dispatches White House Intelligence analyst Rachel sexton to the Arctic to verify the authenticity of the find. Accompanied by a team of experts, including the charismatic Michael Tolland,  Rachel uncovers the unthinkable -- evidence of scientific trickery -- a bold deception that threatens to plunge the world into controversy.
But before Rahel can make her findings known, she realizes perhaps too late, that such knowledge puts her and Tolland in deadly jeopardy. Fleeing for their lives in an environment as desolate as it is lethal, they possess only one hope for survival: to find who is behind this masterful ploy. The truth, they will learn, is the most shocking deception of all"
 
Well it took 230 pages to start getting interesting, in that first 230 pages I was willing to give this 1 star close the book and never open it again.
But having read The Davinci Code, Angels and Demons, also The Lost Symbol and loving all three of them, I knew this one had to get better. Hell, it's a Dan Brown book, it has to be full of suspense and conspiracy.
Hanging in there paid off in the end, once I made it through that dull beginning, it was chocka block full of twists, turns and thrills. It eventually ended up being such a page turner, I did not put it down again until I got to that last page.
Any Dan Brown fan will love this if you just hang in there for the action to start, I think it was 234 when I finally thought "here we go.." :)



View all my reviews

Sunday, 3 April 2011

Evernight by Claudia Gray

Evernight (Evernight, #1)Evernight (Evernight #1) by Claudia Gray

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Bianca wants to escape.

She's been uprooted from her small hometown and enrolled at Evernight Academy, an eerie Gothic boarding school where the students are somehow too perfect: smart, sleek, and almost predatory. Bianca knows she doesn't fit in.

Then she meets Lucas. He's not the "Evernight type" either, and he likes it that way. Lucas ignores the rules, stands up to the snobs, and warns Bianca to be careful—even when it comes to caring about him.

"I couldn't stand it if they took it out on you," he tells Bianca, "and eventually they would."

But the connection between Bianca and Lucas can't be denied. Bianca will risk anything to be with Lucas, but dark secrets are fated to tear them apart . . . and to make Bianca question everything she's ever believed.


This book is.... Awesome... Just awesome...
It was so unpredictable, I loved all the twists and turns.. I was totally fooled.
Onto book 2!


View all my reviews

Plain Truth by Jodi Picoult

Plain TruthPlain Truth by Jodi Picoult

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This book was recommended to me by my sister, who said she really loved this book. But for some reason I had been putting off reading it, I just kept picking up other books to read. When I finally picked it up I couldn't put it down.


I've only read two of Jodi Picoult's books now and both have had such a unpredictable twist at the end. I just love it not being able to guess whats going on.


THERE MAY BE SPOILERS






Katie is Amish girl who has a baby in the family barn alone and falls asleep with the baby in her arms, wishing god could take it all away. Katie wakes to find the baby gone. We are told the from the first few pages that this is what happened... Throughout the book Katie goes from denying having the baby, to admitting it. But she is adamant that she wake up and found the baby gone. 

I must have suspected every character at least twice, all of them accept the one that it turned out to be.



Brilliant read.



View all my reviews

Killing Floor by Lee Child

Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, #1)Killing Floor (Jack Reacher #1) by Lee Child

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


This is a great first for a series, it's action packed just like a Jason Stathom movie... It hooks you in the first few pages and then you are in for it, you will not be able to put it down again until you have read that last page.
The main man Jack Reacher is such a strong character, I can't wait to read his next adventure.


View all my reviews

Daisy Chain by Mary E. DeMuth

Daisy Chain: A Novel (Defiance Texas Trilogy)Daisy Chain: A Novel (Defiance Texas Trilogy #1) by Mary E. DeMuth

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I had been trying to get hold of this book for such a long time, I can't actually remember where I first heard about it. But it finally became available on kindle in Australia and I snapped it up.

During this story we follow Jed a 14 year old boy, whose best friend Daisy goes missing. We feel his guilt for not walking her home and we suffer with him every time his father loses his temper. As he wishes all the way through the book that he could protect Daisy, his Mama and his sister Sissy, I felt like I just wanted to protect him. Although this book was heartbreaking at times. It also had some happy moments were Jed felt connected with people who cared and who would help him not stay on the right path, as to not turn out angry like Hap.

I would definitely recommend this book. I look forward to reading the rest of the trilogy......Pick it up and Enjoy. :)


View all my reviews

Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

Before I FallBefore I Fall by Lauren Oliver

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Wow, Is all I can say after finishing this book.

This book started off annoying me, with going through the same day over and over again. But with each time we learnt more about Sam and her friends and even the people who weren't her friends. It was heart wrenching, breathtaking, infuriating, sad and happy all at the same time.
I live in hope for a second chance. :)


View all my reviews

Rabbit Legacy By Ellen C. Maze

Rabbit Legacy (Rabbit, #2)Rabbit Legacy (Rabbit #2) by Ellen C. Maze

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Here is another fantastic book SO worthy of 5 stars from Ellen C. Maze.



This is the sequel to the amazing "Rabbit: Chasing Beth Rider".

Synopsis ~ Seven years have passed since novelist Beth Rider escaped the clutches of Jack Dawn and his ilk. She and Michael Stone find that the war rages on as a Rakum remnant begins to rebuild under the thumb of a tyrannical and unbalanced Elder. Determined to destroy everything Beth stands for, Elder Rufus initiates a deadly plan to draw her and her allies into his trap. With the aid of a disaffected Elder named Canaan and a mysterious, legendary Rakum youth known as "The Last", the "Rabbit Army" will confront the demonic forces behind those who threaten their freedom and their very lives. In the battle between good and evil, the gray area expands as Beth longs to bring an end to the Rabbit Legacy.

Ellen has a wonderful gift, her characters and their world capture you and don't let you go until you have finished that last page.

I'm looking forward to reading the final installment of "The Rabbit Trilogy"

Rabbit Redemption (Out Fall 2011)

View all my reviews

Wednesday, 16 February 2011

Rabbit: Chasing Beth Rider By Ellen C. Maze

Rabbit: Chasing Beth RiderRabbit: Chasing Beth Rider (Rabbit #1) by Ellen C. Maze

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


I loved this book.

Ellen C. Maze is a wonderful writer that just picks you up and places you right there in every scene you read, Intently taking in every little thing.

"Author Beth Rider's second vampire novel has hit number one and she is flying high on her new-found fame. But at a fated book signing that runs late into the night, Beth is confronted by an evil she'd only experienced in nightmares. Jack Dawn, a supernatural monster belonging to an ancient race of bloodthirsty immortals known as the Rakum, vows to track down and kill the young writer because of the vile redemptive message her book is bringing his people. 

Facing the most terrifying trial of her life against creatures known only in fables, one simple woman will unintentionally threaten the very existence of a powerful and accursed people. In the climactic mêlée, it is a race to the death, or if Beth has her way, a race to the life-of every Rakum who makes the choice"  
  Source: Ellen's website

As things started to unfold, I was happy dancing and jumping up and down clapping, I was so ecstatic at what was happening.

I struggled to get into this book but that is nothing to do with the book itself and everything to do with my husband complaining I was spending more time with the is book then with him..Oops..

I'll definitely be getting the next installment Rabbit Legacy I'm just undecided on which format to get it in kindle or paperback? what the heck I might get it in both.. :)



View all my reviews

Monday, 31 January 2011

The Judging by Ellen C. Maze

The Judging: The Corescu Chronicles Book OneThe Judging (The Corescu Chronicles #1) by Ellen C. Maze

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I won this book from one of Ellen C. Maze's competitions, Ellen wrote inside it “Enjoy the ride”. What a ride it was!

Mark Corescu is like Dexter with fangs.

Mark was a Priest before being transformed into a vampire, back in 1640. He has lived his vampire life, believing he is doing God’s will by killing evildoers of the human race; giving them the chance to repent, before draining their bodies of blood and subsequently ending their lives.

Fate brings two people into his life who make him question whether these judging’s he’s been performing are really the will of God? Or could it be an idea the humanity left in him cooked up so he can live what he has to do to survive?

This is so well written.

Throughout ‘The Judging’ Ellen C. Maze takes you from one characters point of view to the next. I personally find this confusing or annoying in other books. But Ellen does it so well, I found myself enjoying each character as they came along and connecting with them in a way i never thought possible. It was always just at the right time. When I was starting to think what is he/she thinking about this, the next paragraph I’d be in his/her head and he’d/she’d be telling me exactly what I wanted to know or just enough to satisfy my mind for the time being.

I’ll be first in queue to buy ‘Damascus Road: Book Two of The Corescu Chronicles’.

I already have Ellen C. Maze’s other book ‘Rabbit: Chasing Beth Rider’ sat on my kindle waiting to be read next. :)

Everyone should definitely go out and buy this book immediately, you don’t know what your missing.



View all my reviews

Wednesday, 19 January 2011

Tease Promo for True Blood Season 4.



Oh My Godric...
Okay there isn't much to see but thats the whole point of a teaser right? I can not wait for TrueBlood to come back... and this says Coming SOON.. hehehe :)

Wednesday, 12 January 2011

Kiss of Midnight by Lara Adrian

Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed,  #1)Kiss of Midnight (Midnight Breed #1) by Lara Adrian

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


I really enjoyed this book, which was a nice surprise. I had heard if I like J.R.Ward, (whom I adore) I'll like theses books.
I found them very very much like J.R.Ward's Black Dagger Brotherhood series. They were so much like them, I'm not sure if they were too much like them.

The storyline and characters are great, Lucan is the leader of the Breed warrior's who seems to hate the monster he is.
The Breed are Vampire's who originated from 8 Ancient aliens who crash landed on earth and found the only food they could eat was human blood, they impregnated human women (as the ancients are only men) and the babies are the breed. Thier enemy's are Rogues who are Breed mambers who have become too addicted to Bloodlust.
There are Human women who are born over the years with a birthmark that marks them as a Breedmate (one who is strong enough to carry a breed members child and will become a life long mate)
Gabrielle has one of these Birthmarks and when Lucan finds it he decides he doesn't want to weaken himself by becoming tied to a breedmate. But will he be able to keep himself away from the pull of her Jasmine scented blood.

I'll definately move onto the next book to see which warrior's life we get a look into.

There are some HOT and STEAMY sex scenes in this book. Cold showers WILL be needed after reading.




View all my reviews

Saturday, 8 January 2011

Grave Surprise by Charlaine Harris

Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly, #2)Grave Surprise (Harper Connelly #2) by Charlaine Harris

My rating: 3 of 5 stars



**********Contains SPOILER"S***********

I would of given this 3& 1/2 stars if GoodReads star counter it would let me.

Well, i found the "who dun it" very predictable. I pegged Felicia as the murderer from the first meeting she had with Harper and Tolliver. It pissed me off that Harper and Tolliver were so dumb to not figure it out even though they kept pointing the humungous clues. I was practically screaming at the book saying "Oh come on you two!"

Also....

I found Harper's reaction her epiphany over her feelings for Tolliver, totally over the top. It was predictable too, I suspected it from the first book when they both kept having pops at each other over thier sexual partners throughout the book. Real brothers and sister's even step ones wuldn't have conversations like that unless they have feelings for each other. I'm guessing throughout the next books we are going to get Harper falling more for him, but pulling away thinking its wrong and Tolliver is going to be thinking she's fed up of traveling with him and he'll let her keep on pulling. Which in return will leave us yelling at her again saying "damn it woman open your eyes, he feels it too.." and "Just make a move Tolliver, come on!" Lol.. I can't see what is wrong with the whole situation either; yes they have been brought up together as teenagers but they are only Step-siblings, it's only like different sex best friends who have realised after being BFF's for thier whole lives they we're looking thier love/soul mate in the face all this time. She even refers to him at one point as "not my brother, my best friend."

We got alot of Harpers back story repeated from the first book and also repeated again throughout the book, which caused me to do some skimming but if you have read Charlaine Harris' Sookie series, You'll find she does that thrughout them too. Which I guess could be for new readers starting the series without reading the earlier books. Our just to refresh our minds if we are say on book 6 and may have forgot those little bits from the first book.

Don't get me wrong I'm not saying I didn't enjoy the book, because I did; at one point I stopped reading updated my GR status and planned on going to sleep (it was past midnight) to find myself over an hour later with Kindle back in hand still reading... Oops

I am definately going to give the next one ago, I just hope Charlaine throws us some Red-Herrings to put us off the track abit.


View all my reviews