Friday, 24 September 2010

Do You Come Here Often by Alexandra Potter

Do You Come Here Often?Do You Come Here Often? by Alexandra Potter

My rating: 5 of 5 stars


Grace is living the perfect life, she's engaged to a lawyer, Spencer. One thing leads to another and she starts to question if he is really Mr Right? after all.

Do You Come Here Often? follows a group of people that are all connected to Grace Fairley, in some way or another.

I loved the story line and enjoyed all the character's, the only problem was that it jumped from one person to another without warning. Which I found made me get lost afew times. But I still found it a feel good book, Making you believe in fate and second chances.



View all my reviews

Wednesday, 22 September 2010

Brilliant Album.

kasey chambers,little bird Kasey Chambers' new album Little Bird is Awesome. I think everyone should go and Buy it. :)

Book Trailer - The Exile by Diana Gabaldon


I can't wait to get my hands on this book, and get into Jamie's head! ;)

Saturday, 18 September 2010

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder by Joanne Fluke

Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, #1)Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen #1) by Joanne Fluke

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


A few lines from the book to entice you to get it. :)

'Hannah stopped several feet from the truck and called out "Hi, Ron. Do you want me to call a tow truck?"
Ron didn't answer. Hannah walked closer, called out again, and moved around the door to glance inside the truck.
The sight that greeted Hannah made her jumpback and swallow hard. Ron LaSalle, Lake Eden's football hero, was lying face up n the seat of his delivery truck. His white hat was on the floorboards, the orders on his clipboard were rattling in the wind, and one of Hannah's cookie bags was open on the seat. Chocolate Chip Crunches were scattered everywhere and Hannah's eyes widened as she realised that he was still holding one of her cookies in his hand.
At first Hannah's shocked mind refused to believe what she was seeing. Ron's body was stiff and lifeless, any fool could see that, and he had died eating one of her cookies'


Cookie-baking heroine, Hannah Swensen find's an old school friend, Ron LaSalle's dead body in the alley behind her shop 'The Cookie Jar'. Her Brother-in-law a police officer hoping for a promotion to detective asks for her help in finding Ron's killer.

I found this book fun, light hearted and quirky. It has 7 Yummy cookie recipes scattered throughout too. I can't wait to find out what Hannah gets upto next.





View all my reviews

Friday, 17 September 2010

Moon Dance (Vampire for Hire) by J.R.Rain

Moon DanceMoon Dance by J.R. Rain

My rating: 4 of 5 stars


Mother,wife, Private investigator... vampire. Six years ago federal agent Samantha Moon's was the perfect wife and mother, your typical soccer mom with the minivan and suburban home. Then the unthinkable happens, an attack that changes her life forever. And forever is a very longtime for a vampire. Now the world at large thinks Samantha has developed a rare skin disease, a disease which forces her to quit her day job and stay out of the light of sun. Now working the night shift as a private investigator, Samantha is hired by Kingsley Fulcrum to investigate the murder attempt on his life, a horrific scene captured on TV and seen around the country. But as the case unfolds, Samantha discovers Kingsley isn't exactly what he appears to be; after all, there is a reason why he survived five shots to the head.



I bought Moon Dance on my Kindle when I was hunting for something to read. It was on special and had lots of 5 star reviews. I had never heard of the book or the author before, but thought oh why not. I'm so glad I did buy it.

I really enjoyed this book, the characters are so loveable; well most of them, The plot is easy to follow. A great book to read when your looking for something to fall into and relax, without having to do a lot of thinking.

My only problem I finished it too quick.

I will definately go out and look for more of J.R.Rain's work.



View all my reviews

Wednesday, 1 September 2010

Do nasty evil vampires deserve a tribute?

I just love this show. HBO are always coming up with brilliant videos to tease and entertain us with.


Tuesday, 31 August 2010

The Shack by William P. Young

This book is an amazing read, it is spiritually profound, theologically enlightening and life impacting.

Visit the The Shack book website

This book is an amazing read, it is spiritually profound, theologically enlightening and life impacting.

If you do not believe in God do not let that put you off it is not bible drivel, (No offence to bible lovers) I am not remotely religious and still loved this book. It asked many questions I have asked myself about Religious beliefs, the bible and God.
Not only did it give me a new perspective on religion, it also gave me a new perspective on my relationships with my family and friends; and how I can change them for the better. This book is a must read.
Please give it a try!

Saturday, 28 August 2010

Dragonfly in Amber by Diana Gabaldon

                             ******      This may contain Spoiler's        ****** 



Dragonfly in Amber is the sequel to Outlander (Cross stitch, UK), and begins in 1968, twenty-one years after we left Claire and Jamie recovering in the French Abbey, pondering their decision to try and stop Bonnie Prince Charlie from starting a war which they know will decimate the Highland Clans.

At first, it is such a shock to be twenty years further on from where u left it, you think you've picked up the wrong book.I checked online in a panic to find that this is in fact the sequel.


Once I picked the book up again, all does become clear was you get over the heart wrenching fact that Claire and Jamie have been separated for twenty years. 

Claire is back in Scotland for the first time since returning to her own time, pregnant and disorientated. Her husband, Frank Randall, has died, and she is keeping a promise to herself to tell her daughter Brianna about her real father. She goes back to the Reverend Wakefield's house to find his adopted son, Roger, in residence after the Reverends death. Roger, too, must hear her story, for reasons she does not reveal until the end. And so, as she tells her story, we learn what happened after the events in Outlander and how she came to return to Frank, and what happened to Jamie. The narrative switches from Roger's 3rd person narrative to Claire's 1st Person narrative. I still can't decide whether I'm a fan of this or not. I found myself at times wanting to skip ahead to either find out what Roger has found or to hear from Claire what happened.

I must admit I found myself flicking through the book to see if she goes back to Jamie's time. It just made me so sad,to read the what Claire thought happen to Jamie and then to read the what Roger believed happened. I was practically screaming at Roger to tell Claire what he thought just so she would go back and find out.
I cried a lot during this book, so if u are planning on reading it whilst out in public or even going out after reading it, be warned you may get puffy eyes.

Diana Gabaldon books are long books, But she tells a great story, the historical facts are extremely well-researched. I just love this series and once finished this installment couldn't wait to start Voyager (book 3)

True Blood Season 3: Almost at an end.

 It only feels like yesterday that I was getting so excited that Season 3 was starting (in less then 24 hours). I cant believe we are waiting for the last 2 episodes already. Below is a teaser of whats coming up in the last 2 episodes.




         ********** May be SPOILER'S if you haven't read the books  **********


I started with the books and although Alan Ball has made some changes he seems to be sticking with them where it is important, until now. I am a huge fan of Eric whilst reading and watching the show.

The last episode (#10: I smell a rat.) has got me worried about where Alan is taking Eric and even Pam. I just hope I am wrong. I will have to re-read the book just to make sure I am remembering it wrong, but I don't believe Eric would be so harsh to chain Sookie up and us her. Although its not until 'Dead to the world' (book 4) that things really happen between Eric and Sookie when he gets amnesia. I still don't think he would be so bad.

Maybe Alan is just making us get worried and is going to twist it all round for the good in the end. Perhaps Eric is just chaining Sookie up to keep her there knowing to well she won't do as she is told. Sookie does what Sookie wants. Although the trailer above has a few more scenes that look worrying too.

Perhaps I am just over analysing it all. After all we can only wait and see. :)

Saturday, 17 July 2010

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Outlander (published in the UK as Cross Stitch) is the first in a series of novels (currently seven) by Diana Gabaldon.
My sister recommended Cross Stitch to me saying "it took me a while to get into it, I had to be in the mood. But I loved it by the time i was halfway through." So I bought this book and it was sat on my 'to read' pile for months, I kept picking it up and then before opening it putting it down again to read something else. When I finally did pick this up I couldn't figure out why my sister found it hard to get into. I was initially worried because I had heard there was alot of scottish dialogue and I thought i'd be reading sentences over again and again to figure out what was being said. Thankfully that wasn't the case. I did find after I had finished I kept accidentally speaking with that scottish accent. I have a friend who loves accents she would of loved talking to me then.

Outlander is an amazing combination of mythology, love, war and Scottish history. If you love your history like me, It's a must read!


Outlander:
The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon--when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach--an "outlander"--in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord...1743.  Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into intrigues and dangers that may threaten her life...and shatter her heart. For here she meets James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire...and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives.

          UK cover version                                                                                     US cover version


















                                                                                    

The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.

I was out of town and just browsing in a bookstore, which isn't unusual for me. What is unusual is the book I bought it is so unique, it's so hard to describe, scattered throughout the book are letters and conversations written on scraps of paper and take away coffee cups. 

My usual genre of book is paranormal romance or murder mystery/crime. This book is niether, it's a story of grief and loss, but also of  love, life and romance. Although I found it in the Young Adults section don't let that put you off, because it was amazing and adults along with young adults will love it.   

The Sky Is Everywhere is the kind of book you don’t just read, you live. From the very first page, I fell in love with its wonderfully quirky characters. I cried my eyes out and then laughed through the tears. It's such a heart warming story.

The Sky is Everywhere:
Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life—and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

Jandy Nelson did a wonderful job, its a brilliant debut novel.
US. Trailer for The Sky is Everywhere.

Sunday, 11 July 2010

The Karate Kid.

My kids have been nagging to see "The Karate kid" since the first trailer was shown on TV weeks ago. The minute i saw Jackie Chan was in it i decided we had to go see it!

Today was the day we finally went, I say finally but it was only released here 4 days ago.

I was very intrigued to see how Jaden Smith would be as an actor, as bad as this will make me sound I was wondering if he got the part because of his high profile father (Will Smith) or his own acting skills. I am very glad to report it is the latter, he is a brilliant little actor, he will definitely be giving his dad a run for his money as he gets older.

The film was great and took nothing away from the original. In my opinion it surpasses the original in its kung fu and spirit. We get to see some breathtaking views of China, including the Forbidden City and The Great Wall of China.
Overall "The Karate Kid" gets five out of five stars from me

Unfortunately when we got back home my boys, who are 8 years old (twins) decided they wanted to try out the cool kung fu moves on each other. So I have a feeling im going to be doing a lot of telling off over the next couple of days.


You can visit the movie's website here > The Karate Kid

Rasta Thomas' Rock the Ballet.

Last night I went to see these "Bad boys of dance", and they were amazing.
HOT, HOT, HOT!!!



If they come to a town near you I highly recommend you go see them, you will NOT be disappointed.

To find out their schedule visit their website by clicking here > The bad boys of dance.

Friday, 9 July 2010

My Challenge List

Here is my List for July's Challenge, fingers crossed I get through them all by July 31st!!

1. Read a book that is set in the past (historical).

2. Read a book that is set in the present (contemporary).

3. Read a book that is set in the future (futuristic).

4. Read a book that involves time-travel.

5. Read a book that was popular on the year that you were born.

6. Read a book that is set in a major city (urban)

7. Read a book that is set in a rural setting, small town or country.

8. Read a book that is set in space or off-planet.

9. Read a book that happens in a place that is completely created by the author's imagination or a place that cannot be found in a current world map. (fantasy).

10. Read a book set in the city, state or country you currently lived in, or a place, city, state or country you have visited. (Scottland)

Wednesday, 23 June 2010

Reading Challenge

As I have said before (and any of you who know me will know) I'm a HUGE bookworm.

I love the Good Reads website, they also have a cool iPhone app too (it's free too) Anyway on Good Reads I recently joined the Paranormal Romance group, because I read alot of PNR books. On the discussion boards there there is this cool person "Yz the Whyz" that sets monthly Challenges for Book addicts like me. Here is July's challenge:
This time we will be doing one that I call The Challenge of Time and Place.


Challenge Duration: July 1, 2010 - July 31, 2010

Settings, including both the time element and location, are as important in the makings of a good story as great characters and well-though out plot line.

Of Time:

1. Read a book that is set in the past (historical).
2. Read a book that is set in the present (contemporary).
3. Read a book that is set in the future (futuristic).
4. Read a book that involves time-travel.
5. Read a book that was popular on the year that you were born.
    A good source for #5 is Good Reads or Fantastic Fiction
6. Read a book that is set in a major city (urban)
7. Read a book that is set in a rural setting, small town or country.
8. Read a book that is set in space or off-planet.
9. Read a book that happens in a place that is completely created by the author's imagination or a place that cannot be found in a current world map. (fantasy).
10. Read a book set in the city, state or country you currently lived in, or a place, city, state or country you have visited.
But no reading before July 1st. books close July 31st.

This really looks like a challenge and a half especially since its my first challenge attempt, but I am gonna give it a go. Did I mention just to make things harder, 7 out of the 10 books you choose have to be Paranormal Romance?

I'll post my list as soon as I get it together, I think its gonna take a little bit of research. So stay tuned!

Does anyone fancy joining me on this challenge?

Sunday, 13 June 2010

TrueBlood Season 3

Since we only have to wait for less then 24 hours for the next season of TrueBlood, I have decided to do a special TrueBlood based post. Plus the fact that i'm a huge fan of the show and would love any excuse to drool over Eric Northman (played by Alexander Skarsgard).

The following Video is a sum up of TrueBlood up to date narrated by Lafayette in just under five minutes. If you've seen the previous seasons its a good way to refresh your minds before watching the first episode of Season 3, which airs on HBO @9pm EST June 13, or if your are new to the show and don't fancy watching the first two seasons it's a great way to get upto date on the show.
But if u haven't seen it and plan on watching the two seasons before you sit to watch season 3 it does contain **SPOILERS** for seasons 1 & 2.





Now that you are upto date and ready for Season 3, here is the full Season 3 Trailer



You can also watch both of these video's on HBO's YouTube channel by clicking Here

Enjoy The Next season of TrueBlood. I know I will! :)

Aimz xoxo

Thursday, 7 January 2010

Bran Nue Dae

I can't wait to see this movie. It looks like an awesome Aussie movie.
Ernie Dingo, Magda, Missy Higgins,Geoffrey Rush and Jessica Mauboy... Need I say more?


Aimz xoxo

Tuesday, 5 January 2010

A sad farewell to David Tennent

I have just watched Doctor Who - The End of Time, parts 1 and 2; in which we say a sad farewell to David Tennent who plays 'The Doctor' for the last time. This is an brilliant two part special in which we get to see all our favourite charactors; Captain Jack Harkness, Donna Noble, Wilfred Mott (Donna's grandfather), Rose Tyler, Jackie Tyler, Sarah Jane, Luke (Sarah Jane's son), Micky, and Martha Jones.

I cry at everything, so obviously I balled my eyes out watching the second part.

I have loved David as 'The Doctor' I would say he is my favourite, upto now. When we said goodbye to Christopher Eccleston I was very dissappointed I would never of believed David would have be as good. But In my opinion he was better, which is amazing because I loved Christopher Eccleston at the time of him leavng too.

So we now say "Hello" to the Eleventh Doctor, Matt Smith. I was worried when I saw photo's of him as I thought he (no offence to Matt intended) looked to geeky for 'The Doctor'. In fact I have been dreading this next series. But having seen his entering scene and the following trailer for the fifth series; I believe he will do a great job. He seems to have the same quirkiness David did, especially with what looks like Matt's catchphrase "Geronimo".

I can't wait for this next season to air.


 Farewell David Tennent, Hopefully you have enjoyed being 'The Tenth Doctor' as much as we have enjoyed you being him. Good luck in whatever you plan to do in the future, I'm sure your fans, me included can't wait to see you again.

Good Luck Matt Smith, Enjoy being The Eleventh Doctor.

Aim'z xoxo